The following information is a summary of the origins of metropolitan suburb names in Western Australia. Please select the first letter of the suburb you wish to see.
A | B |C | D | E | F | G |H |I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q |R |S |T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Originally named 'Alinjarra' - an Aboriginal word for 'north' - in 1977, this suburb was renamed Alexander Heights on 24th December 1987. The name is derived from Alexander Drive, the main arterial road into the area. The road honours SB Alexander, a Road Board Member who was very active in civic affairs.
This small suburb takes its name from the sheltered cove that forms its northern boundary. The cove was named after Alfred Waylen, the original grantee of Swan Location 74 which took in most of the present day localities of Myaree and Alfred Cove.Though recognised well before, Alfred Cove was made a postal district in 1955 and the locality was Gazetted on 3rd September 1982.
This suburb within the City of Wanneroo is named after the Greek freighter 'Alkimos' which ran aground on the coast adjacent to the suburb. The 7033 ton freighter originally came aground south of Geraldton on the 19 March 1963. It was refloated and made its own way to Fremantle, towed by the tug 'Pacific Star' which was engaged to tow the vessel to Hong Kong for scrap. Just after the tow was started on the 31st May 1963, bad weather was encountered, the tow cable snapped and the vessel ran aground again. Several attempts were made to refloat her, but all were unsuccessful.This locality name was approved on 26thMay 1967.
This suburb was originally a portion of Cockburn Sound Location 16, Thomas Peel's huge land grant of nearly 250 000 acres. Some of the grant was used for the 'Peel Estate' Group Settlement Scheme in the 1920s. The suburb was named after Richard John Anketell, a surveyor who was the Engineer in Chief of the drainage scheme for the Peel Estate Group Settlement Scheme in the 1920s.The locality name was approved on 14th March 1978.
The area now comprising the suburb of Applecross was originally part of Swan Location 61 assigned to Lionel Lukin on the 28 May 1830. The land was finally acquired by Sir Alexander Percival Matheson in February 1896. Matheson, a Scot, formed the Western Australian Investment Company Limited and instigated the subdivision of the area, giving it the name of Applecross after a small fishing village on the North West coast of Scotland.The area was Gazetted as a townsite on 1st January 1935 and listed as a postal district 1955, with the locality being Gazetted on 3rd September 1982
This suburb is another area of land acquired by the Scotsman, Sir Alexander Percival Matheson in 1896. In Matheson's subdivision of the adjoining suburb of Applecross, he created 'Ardross Street' naming it after either the town of Ardrossan on the Scottish west coast or Ardross Castle, located about 40km north of Inverness. The suburb derives its name from this street.Like many of the localities in this area in was approved as a postal district in the 1950s with the locality being Gazetted on 3rd September 1982.
The suburb of Armadale derives its name from the railway station of Armadale which was established there in 1893. It is named after either of two Scottish towns of this name, one west of Edinburgh and the other on the north coast of Scotland.The townsite of Aramadale was Gazetted in 1909.
Named after Ascot Racecourse which has been used for horseracing since 1848. The racecourse was named after Lord Ascot (1831).This area was formally part of both Belmont and Redcliffe with Ascot being approved as a locality on 22nd March 1991.
This suburb is named after a local landowner, Mr EE Ashby, who owned land in the area in 1913. The name was approved on 5th March 1998.
CALM advised that the name Ashendon was made up by combining the initials of the first names of two early foresters, Alan Cuthbert Harris and Don Stewart Moore. Locality name and boundary - Approved 3rd January 2006.
The name of the suburb was derived from Ashfield Parade, the name given to a road constructed along side the Swan River when the area was first subdivided in 1913. In the 1950s a public housing development in the area was name 'Ashfield Estate'.
The land comprising the suburb was granted to Archibald Butler in 1830 and was acquired by the Scotsman, Sir Alexander Percival Matheson in 1896. Matheson is believed to have named Attadale after a small town in Scotland on the eastern shores of Lock Carron, not far from Applecross.The area was recognised in 1955 with a approved postal boundary and was Gazetted as a locality on 3rd September 1982.
Atwell is a suburb in the south-east section of the Town of Cockburn. This name was taken from a pioneer family from the area who had owned land there for many years. The Atwell brothers owned several livery stables in Fremantle around the turn of the century and it was Ernest Atwell who took over the Conditional Purchase Lease of Jandakot Agricultural Area Lot 209. The name was gazetted on the 7th March 1974.
Aubin Grove in the City of Cockburn was formerly part of the rural locality of Banjup. It is named after Henry John Aubin who leased agricultural land in the area in 1897.The name was approved on the 4th December 2003.
The area now comprising the locality of Aveley was previously part of Ellenbrook. Aveley was the name of the district in county Essex, England where 'Belhus Estate' was situated. Edward Pomeroy Barrett Lennard was born in 1799 and his grandfather Lord Dacre was of Belhus, Aveley in the county of Essex, England. He arrived in the Swan River colony on 23rd August 1829 and was assigned a total of 13,220 acres on Swan Location H, 8km north of Guildford. In 1897 Edward's eldest son George Hardey Barrett Lennard of 'St Leonard's' purchased a large tract of land from a syndicate and named the property 'Belhus' after the family estate in Aveley, Essex. This was the current location of the Vale development that became Aveley.The locality was approved on 6th September 2006.
Avon Valley National Park
This locality is situated approximately 16.6kms E by N of the Bullsbrook townsite.The national park which was named after the valley of the Avon River which flows through the reserve.This locality was approved 21 August 2002.
Return to alphabet index
This rural locality derives its name from Bailup Creek and a police station and inn established on the Toodyay Road in the 1840s. The name is Aboriginal, of unknown origin.It first appeared as “Baylup” on Philip Chauncy’s survey plans in the 1840s.
The area now known as Balcatta was once contained in the northern half of Perth Shire location Au granted to TRC. Walters on the 10 March 1840. The name Balcatta was recorded by Alexander Forrest in 1877 as being the Aboriginal name for the northern position of Careniup Swamp and the name was used on an offer of sale by Mr Mews in 1888. A later owner, James Arbuckle, named his house Balcatta after the area it overlooked.
This suburb was one of the State Government's Group Settlement schemes which was implemented in the 1920s to alleviate unemployment. A school building was completed and was given the name 'Baldivis' - a name coined by local settlers after three ships that brought them to WA in 1922, the 'Balranald', the 'Diogenes' and the 'Jervis Bay'. The most coincidental item is that all three ships were built in the same place and in the same year.Also, all of the vessels made their maiden voyage to WA within six weeks of each other.
'Balga' is an Aboriginal word for the grass tree Xanthorrhoea, commonly known as 'black boy' trees. The name was chosen in 1954 for a portion of what was then known as the 'Mirrabooka Project Area'. This was a State Housing Commission subdivision between Yokine and Wanneroo which also contained the suburbs of Nollamara and Yirrigan. Work commenced on the laying out of streets in Balga in 1959.
Ballajura is the name of the farm originally pioneered by Kerruish and Eaton and was held by Kerruish until his death in 1947. EM Kerruish migrated to Australia in 1903. The property was located about 5km south-west of the present suburb. The farm was actually named 'Ballajora' after Kerruish's birth place, a small village on the Isle of Man.The locality name was approved on 2nd November 1972.
Formerly part of Neerabup then named Cockman in December 1998, Cockman was renamed Banksia Grove on the 3rd of June 1999. The name is descriptive of the prominent vegetation in the area and the surrounding terrain.
The Banksiadale name was used as the former Banksiadale Primary School was in this same area.The school was erected on the same site as the former Dwellingup No. 2 State Saw Mill in 1913. The name was derived from the school name and the banksia trees which grow in this area.
Surveyor James Oxley in 1889 recorded the names of two water features as 'Lake Bangup' and 'Bangdown Swamp'. Exactly who gave these features their unusual names is unknown and only one of these names was shown on maps, ie 'Bangup Lake'. Land for the Armadale - Jandakot Railway link was resumed in 1907 and a station was constructed. The station was located 3.6km north of 'Bangup Lake' and was named 'Banjupp'. This is presumed to be a corruption of the original name of the lake. The name 'Banjupp' was used until the 1930s when the spelling was amended to Banjup. The spelling of Banjup was confirmed in the Government Gazette dated 22nd December 1944.
Barragup is the Aboriginal name of the place in the Serpentine River where the Aborigines constructed a 'mungur' or fish trap. Early setters would buy fish from the Aborigines here as they caught them in abundance when the first winter rains flushed them out of the river. The meaning of the name is not known.
This suburb takes its name from 'Baskerville', the name given by William Tanner to Swan Location 5, his estate in the Swan valley. Tanner, a prominent Perth citizen and landowner, took up the land in 1831. Formally part of Millendon the City of Swan requested a change of name as this area was locally known as Baskerville. Although the area was widely known as Baskerville, the name was not approved for the suburb until 12th March1992.
The name 'Bassendean' was first recorded by Surveyor JW Gregory in 1841 as the name of 1455 acres for Mr P Brown, who had his homestead on the West Bank of Swan River. Peter Brown (or Broun) was WA's first Colonial Secretary in 1832 and apparently named his property on the Swan River after a family property in England, Bassendean in Berwickshire. This area was also previously known as West Guildford. A competition to choose a new name for the area was held in 1922 and two school children nominated the name 'Bassendean' after Peter Brown's property.
The name is taken from Bateman Road which was itself named after the Bateman family. The name of 'Bateman' is that of a well-known Perth merchant firm. The company began business in 1857, but the family arrived in the colony on the 'Medina' in 1830. John Bateman built a store in Fremantle dealing in merchandise of many kinds and became postmaster at Fremantle in 1833. He also took part in the establishment of a whaling business at Fremantle and after his death in 1855, his sons took over the family business and formed a company in 1857.
'Bayswater' was the name of a property in the vicinity of Slade Street, advertised for sale in the Morning Herald, 31 July 1885 and was purchased by a Mr Gribble. It is presumed to be named after the London suburb of the same name. Bayswater, London, is derived from a corruption of 'Baynard's Watering Place' and is a part of London lying to the north of Kensington Gardens and was a hamlet near what is Gloucester Terrace.
Named after a property known as 'Beaconsfield' which was located in the area in the 1880s and the name was officially adopted for the Post Office on the 1 August, 1894. The origin is unknown, but probably named after the town in England of the same name or the Earl of Beaconsfield, Benjamin Disraeli, the former Tory Prime Minister of England in 1881. Disraeli died in April 1882 and was created Earl of Beaconsfield in 1879.
Subdivision of this area took place around the turn of the century, when most of the streets being named after towns near London. The Gosnells Road Board suggested 'Beckenham' (also a town near London and a street name within the area).
The area was called 'Bedford Park' following subdivision by the International Investment Land and Building Co. Ltd. of Sydney and Gold Estates of Australia (an English company). The name honours Admiral Sir Frederick George Denham Bedford, Governor of Western Australia from 1903 to 1909. This suburb was a product of the WA Gold Boom of the 1890s and early 1900s.
Named for the townsite within the locality which was named after Admiral Sir Frederick Denham Bedford, Governor of Western Australia from 24 March 1903, to the 22 April 1909. Governor Bedford chose the street names to commemorate several famous Admirals. Locality was declared by Government Gazette on 29th August 1980.
This name has been in use since 1892 when Henry Brockman of Gingin, the owner of part of Swan Locations M and M1, first subdivided that land into farmlets. A number of estate names were used by Brockman and 'Beechboro Park' was one of them. It is named after 'Beachborough Manor'- the ancestral home of the Brockman family in Kent, England.
'Beechina' is the Aboriginal name of a nearby white gum valley, further north-east. It was first recorded by surveyor P Chauncy in 1847, when he was carrying out the survey of the first road to Northam. The locality was named after the townsite which it encompasses and was approved on 20th December 1979.
'Beeliar' is the Aboriginal name for the southern metropolitan region. RM Lyon recorded the name in 1833, referring to it as 'the district of Midjegoorong'.Midjegoorong was an Aboriginal leader and the father of Yagan.The name was approved for the suburb on 2nd December 1993.
The suburb name Beldon is named after AW Beldon, whose name appears in a list of early landowners and surveyors of Wanneroo. Little is known of Beldon. The suburb was originally proposed to be named Albert Grove in 1974 after Sir Albert V Jennings a founder of the company Jennings Industries, which was the co-partner in the development. Beldon was approved as the name in 1975.
This suburb takes its name from 'Belhus', the name given to the Swan valley property acquired by Edmund George Barrett-Lennard in 1897. Formerly known as 'Ellen's Brook', Barrett-Lennard renamed it after the family estate in England. Barrett-Lennard was one of the pioneers in the table grape industry and when establishing the vineyard, incurred great expense in irrigation from the old mill weir on the property. He also visited Spain to study cultivation and conditions. Though in use for many years the locality name was approved on 21st May 1972.
The name is a variation of 'Belle View' which was used as the property name by Edward Robinson when he built a homestead in the area in 1887. The name Bellevue was used by the Railways Department on a timetable on 25th May 1897.
Most of the suburb of Belmont was assigned to Captain Francis Henry Byrne in 1831. It is believed that Byrne named his land 'Belmont' after his estate in England. In official records as early as August 1831, the Surveyor General J.S. Roe refers to the location called “Belmont”.The land was not developed until 1882 when Shepherd Smith of Sydney purchased it and it was Smith in 1897 and 1898 who instigated the major subdivision of the area. For many years the lots were quite large due to the development of the area for training racehorses and because of the proximity to the Belmont Park Racecourse.
This is a developer's estate name for the area which was originally part of Beechboro. Possibly name may have been selected due to the Bennett Brook being situated at the eastern end of the development. The name has been in use by the community for some time. Bennett Springs was approved on the 8th April 2011.
The Canning Road Board in April 1940 proposed the name 'Bentley Park' for the suburb because an area within the proposed district had been locally known as 'Bentley Hill' for more than 70 years. Enquiries as to the origin of the name indicated that there was a considerable camp established on this hill when the Albany 'Block' Road was being constructed about 1870, and that the Warder in Charge of the men was named 'Bentley'. John Bentley was an enrolled Pensioner Guard, formerly a Private of the 7th Regiment and served in the Crimean War. He arrived in the colony aboard the 'York' on the 31 December 1862. 'Park' was dropped from the name in 1967.
A new suburb in the Town of Kwinana, Bertram derives its name from a Group Settler who owned land in the area in the 1920s.The locality was approved on 17th December 1998.
The suburb of 'Bibra Lake' takes its name from the extensive lake within its boundaries. The existence of the lake was first reported by AC Gregory during a survey of George Robb's land in May 1842. Gregory recorded the Aboriginal name of the lake as 'Walubup'. During the following year, Benedict Von Bibra, surveying his own selection on the southern shores of the lake, recorded the name as 'Walliabup' and the latter version was used exclusively on maps for more than half a century. In 1877, it was found the Von Bibra's association with 'Lake Walliabup' was apparently still recalled by locals who referred to the feature as 'Bibra's Lake'. This alternative name was added to plans and eventually in 1967, adopted in place of the Aboriginal name.
In the 1890s a siding in this area was known as 'Heidelburg' or 'Heidelburg Grove', it being the name given by George Henry Palmateer to his property.Palmateer held 300 acres in the area in 1893. In 1915, because of World War I, the Railway Department was asked to change the name to something not of German origin. The Under Secretary for Lands proposed the name 'Bickley' after a pioneer in the area and a member of the first Legislative Assembly - Samuel Wallace Alexander Walsh Bickley or Wallace Bickley, as he was more commonly known. He was the original owner of 640 acres on the Canning River in 1843 and the brook which entered the Canning River at the corner of the land was known as 'Bickley's Brook'. The name Bickley was adopted in September 1915.
The present suburb of 'Bicton' once comprised four grants taken up in 1830 by Alfred Waylen, Joseph Cooper, William Habgood and John Hole Duffield respectively. Bicton was the name of Duffield's estate in his home village in South Devon, England. The vineyard he established upon his death in 1859 was also given this name.
Named after the historic homestead of the Birch family who had resided in this area since the 1860's. Birchmont Homestead is one of the earliest residences in the Murray District.
Arthur Birch arrived in WA, aged seventeen, in 1841. He studied to enter the legal profession, and married Sophia Jane Leeder. In the mid 1850s, Arthur and Sophia, together with their children moved to the Murray District.
In 1862, Birch constructed Birchmont Homestead on the eastern side of the Harvey Estuary.
Birch obtained 100 acres, and erected barns and other outbuildings. Despite poor soil, Birch grew wheat, mulberry and fig trees, and vines. However, the farm depended chiefly depended on cattle and horses, reared on extensive grazing concessions. Until subdivisions around 1900, Birchmont’s stock roamed an area of up to 180 sq km. After Arthur Birch died in 1915,subsequent subdivisions caused the curtailment of Birchmont, and the original holding had shrunk to a few hundred acres by 1960.
Birchmont was approved on the 18th August 1997.
Named after the National Trust property of Blythewood House built in 1859.
Blythewood House (now referred to as Old Blythewood) stands as a testament to the industry, ingenuity and flexibility of the pioneering McLarty family.
John and Mary Anne McLarty were amongst the first Europeans to settle in the Murray District around 1842.
John was a tenant farmer and Mary Anne the local postmistress. As their economic situation improved, the McLartys were able to purchase their own property of some 6,100 acres. Not content to simply farm the new land, in 1860 John applied for, and was granted, a publican’s licence. Blythewood was built to accommodate not just the family but the family businesses.
Patrons of the hotel and post office entered the small rooms off the verandah while access to the family bedrooms was from the dining room and parlour. A detached kitchen block was built at the rear. John extended his business interests to bridge building and road maintenance. Together with his sons he expanded the family cattle business well beyond Blythewood up into the Kimberley District.
Blythwood was approved 18th August 1997.
Booragoon is the Aboriginal name for the lower reaches of the Canning River and was chosen as a suburb name in the early 1950s by the then Melville Road Board from a list published in the West Australian on 3 January 1925.
The name Bouvard honours Alexis Bouvard (1767-1843), a famous French Astronomer whose name was applied to nearby Cape Bouvard by the Baudin expedition in 1803. Bouvard was approved on the 16th May 1980.
To supply the stone required to build the groynes at Fremantle Harbour, a Government quarry was established in the hills a little south-west of Darlington. A spur line was run into the quarry from the existing railway and, by July 1901, dozens of iron and hessian huts housing approximately 150 workmen were clustered near the site. In August of 1901, construction began on a railway siding for the use of this settlement and the first name proposed was 'Yan-Yeen'. This was rejected because of a duplication in Victoria and the Aboriginal word 'Boya', appropriately meaning rock/stone, was chosen instead. It was later found that the correct Aboriginal name for the area was 'Nyeedoup' but Boya remains appropriate as the Aboriginal sub-tribe who once inhabited the hills were known as 'Boya-Ngoora'.
The name was selected to honour Sir Jack Brabham (d 2014), a former racing car driver who once raced on a circuit adjacent to the area. The name was approved on 24th May 2011.
Brabham was created when portions of the West Swan, Henley Brook and Whiteman localities were excised to form this locality.
Named after a town north-east of London in England. This was the birthplace of John Bateman Junior who adopted the name for his homestead. Subdivision of the area was begun by the State Housing commission in the early 1950s and the name was adopted at the request of the Bateman family.
This area was named after the Pastoral Company which owned the land prior to subdivision. 'Brigadoon', according to Websters 20th Century Dictionary in its section on noted names in fiction, mythology and legend, is the name of a Scottish village in a musical play of the same name by AJ Lerner in 1947. The village is said to come to life for one day in every 100 years. The locality name was approved on 26th May 1986.
Brookdale derives its name from the location of the suburb. Wungong Brook flows through it, and adjoining suburbs end in 'Dale' (Forrestdale, Armadale, Bedfordale). The name was approved in 1997.
Named after the creek within its boundaries. The name was adopted by the City of Melville Council in December 1968. The creek was named after an early settler, Lt Henry Bull.
The name originates from the railway station, established during the construction of the Midland Railway in the 1890s and named after an adjacent watercourse, Bull's Brook. The watercourse may have been named after Lt Henry Bull who was granted Swan Location 1 about 8km south on 15 May, 1831. Another possibility is that the watercourse was named after Richard ('Bull') Jones, one of Henry Bull's servants, who resided in the region for many years.
The name Bushmead was selected due to its historical connections to the area.Historically the area was mapped in 1893 with title deeds showing Bushmead as part of the Woodbridge estate.More recently is was locally known as the former Bushmead Rifle Range.The name was approved on 15th February 2017.
This suburb in the City of Wanneroo is located on land originally owned by the Midland Railway Company. In 1908 the Wanneroo Road Board, following a request by 50 district residents, applied for a 50-acre reserve for camping and a health resort at the beach. The request was granted, and by the late 1920s the area was well-used by locals and referred to by them as 'Burns Beach' after a farmer who ran sheep in the area.
Burswood is derived from 'Burrs-Wood', the name given to his property by the original land holder of the area, Henry Camfield. Camfield named his property 'Burrs-Wood' after his father's farm in England. The area became known as Burrswood Island in 1841 when a canal was cut through the peninsula so as to shorten the trip to Guildford. The present accepted spelling of 'Burswood' is the result of a spelling error by the men who painted the sign for the first railway station in the area (now Rivervale station).
This suburb name was chosen by the City of Wanneroo in 1979 and approved as a locality name on 8th January 1980. The name honours John Butler who is the first recorded explorer of the area (1834). Butler settled in the Claremont area, and Butler's Swamp, now renamed Lake Claremont, was named after him.
In 1906, Surveyor AW Canning commenced laying out a number of townsite lots in the area and 'Beenup Townsite' was declared in May that same year. By 1919, dissatisfaction with the town's name was generally felt by residents, and the Progress Association requested that the town be renamed 'Lynwood'. This request was refused because of a duplication in Queensland. A further request in early 1920 expressing a preference for the name 'Byford' was acceptable and the name was changed. The name is believed to have been chosen because it is 'by a ford' on Beenyup Brook.
Return to alphabet index
Similar to the adjoining Kwinana suburbs, Calista is named after a ship. The 'Calista' was one of the first ships to bring settlers to the Swan River Colony. She arrived with 73 passengers on 5 August 1829 under the command of Captain S Hawkins. Two of the most notable passengers on the ship were Lionel and William Samson.The locality name was approved on 4th March 1953.
Canning Mills was originally the name of a railway station on the Upper Darling Range Railway between Pickering Brook and Karragullen on 22nd September 1972.All of the names which containing 'Canning' relate to the Canning River, which is named after George Canning, the Prime Minister of England in 1827 who instigated the expedition by James Stirling to examine the west coast of Australia for a suitable site for a colony.
Another name derived from the Canning River. The suburb of Canning Vale was locally known as North Jandakot until 1925. The name is descriptive; the place being a low-lying area situated south-west of the Canning River.
This name was given according to the English practice of adding the term 'ton' to a name, denoting a town. Subdivision of the suburb of Cannington began in 1882. A railway station was constructed there in the early 1890s and was named Cannington. The area surrounding this station soon became known by this name.
The locality of Camillo was named after a child of Gertrude Seeligson, an early property owner of the area - 1901. Camillo Cyrus died in 1932.Camillo was approved on 1st April 2008.
This locality was formerly known as Westfield which originated from the name of a railway siding on the Jandakot- Armadale line constructed in 1906-08 and located where the railway line crossed Westfield Road.The Westfield suburb named in 1978 and was formerly part of the Kelmscott locality. Westfield was approved on 3 September 1982.
This name was adopted for a suburb near Wanneroo on3rd September 1982 and takes its name from the lake in the area. The name is derived from an Aboriginal word Karroborup or Karabooda possibly meaning "place of spider holes" or "place of wild potato". Original spelling as recorded by JW Gregory in January 1843 was Karroborup when marking Swan Location 113 for M MacDermott, but by 1867, the current spelling was in use.
In 1844, Surveyor Robert Austin recorded that Cockburn Sound Location 22 was called Cardoup. The brook joining the northern boundary of this location was shown variously as Cardoup or Cadup Brook. In 1851, the location was purchased by H Mead, who gave his address as Cardup and this spelling was used for the brook on most subsequent plans and surveys. By 1927, a railway siding had been erected nearby and was called Cardup after the brook and although the siding is no longer in use, the place still retains the name. Cardup is an Aboriginal name said to mean "place of the racehorse goanna"(Kurda).
This suburb was formerly included in Hamersley and Waterman. The name 'Carine' was suggested by the Stirling City Council and the name was approved in December 1973. It is derived from two swamps in the area, the larger having been recorded as Carine Swamp by R Quin during 1865-1866. These swamps are now known as Big Carine Swamp and Little Carine Swamp.
Following the opening of the Perth-Pinjarra Railway on 2 May 1893, Haydon's Siding was constructed near the foundry of that name to the east of Victoria Park. From 1893 to 1912, the area was gradually settled and a station was built near the siding. It was first known as Mint Street but later changed to Victoria Park East. Following a meeting of ratepayers in May 1919, the name 'Carlisle' was chosen for the station. Although it is said that the station was named after the railway town in England near the Scottish border, as it was considered that the area was on the border between Perth and its suburbs, it is interesting to note that the manager of the South West Timber Hewers Cooperative, which purchased the land and a rail spur here in 1919 was named Carlisle.
The area was originally known as 'Green's Landing' after a siding on the timber line. Levi Green, a well known Perth businessman, had moved into the district in 1844 and the siding was named after him. The name 'Carmel' was formally adopted for the siding on 15th October1915 and for townsite on 7th June 1918. The name was probably first suggested by Edward Owen who had established an orchard and founded a Methodist community near Green's property. It is a Hebrew word meaning 'vineyard' or ‘garden of God’ and is also the name applied to a mountain ridge in Palestine.
Carramar is an Aboriginal (Queensland) word meaning "shade of trees", and was approved as a suburb name on 4th December 1997.
This is another suburb of Kwinana named after a ship. The 'Casuarina' was a 30-ton cutter used in the French exploration of the WA coast in 1802-03.The casuarina tree is found in the area. The cutter was commanded by Louis De Freycinet.
Land in the area was originally selected by Peter Shadwell in 1830 and he held it until 1837 when it was acquired by a surgeon Richard Hinds, who had earlier that year arrived by the 'Shepherd' with his wife Susannah and children Sarah and Richard. Hinds referred to his property as 'Caversham Rise', and the shortened form of Caversham soon came to be recognised for the area.The locality name was approved on 19th March 1969.
Formerly part of Westfield, the name Champion Lakes was chosen to identify the area with a then-proposed championship rowing course to be developed in the area. The name was approved on 12th March2002.
Chidlow Townsite was originally named Chidlow's Well after a small waterhole near the old Northam road. The watering place had been known to travellers for many years and was named after a pioneer family of Northam. Settlement began in 1883 when it became known that Chidlow's Well was to be the terminus of the second section of the Eastern Railway. The railway station and townsite were changed from Chidlow's well to Chidlow in 1920.
The area which today comprises the suburb of 'Churchlands' was originally granted to Henry Trigg in 1831. In September 1891, this area was acquired by the Roman Catholic Bishop of Perth, the Right Reverend Matthew Gibney. Gibney was far-sighted in his acquisition of land for the Church, and this area became known as 'Church Lands' as a result of it being owned by the Church. The City of Perth referred to an area just south of here as 'Churchlands' as early as 1924.
In 1917, the Perth City Council purchased the Lime Kilns Estate of 1 290 acres, situated between the Endowment Lands and the city, thus linking the city with the ocean beach. The council proposed to lay out an up-to-date seaside town near the ocean beach on garden city lines, embodying approved town planning principles, and making ample provision for recreation purposes. By 1928, the council had allocated finance to commence work, and also referred to the beach as 'City Beach'. It appears this name developed because it was an area developed by the city council and much more acceptable than 'Ocean Beach'.
In September 1881, a little more than six months after the official opening of the Fremantle to Guildford section of the Eastern Railway, tenders for additional platforms at East Fremantle, North Fremantle and Butler's Swamp were called for. In a timetable published on 1 May 1883, the station formerly known as Butler's Swamp is listed as Claremont and this appears to be the earliest official use of this name. Claremont was named by Mr James Morrison, the owner of Swan Location 702, who gave his land the name of Claremont Estate after his wife Clara Charlotte (nee de Burgh) whom he had married in 1869, and on account of the hilly nature of the country.
The name was proposed by the City of Wanneroo in 1979 and approved on 8th January 1980.The name was chosen in honour of the Clarkson family early settler who held large leases of land in the area.Mindarie and Clarkson localities were transposed at the request of the City of Wanneroo and this was approved 6th May 1985.
The area, originally known as "Koolijerrenup" by the local Noongar people, was named to recognise Lake Clifton which was named in honour of Marshall Walter Clifton (1787–1861), Chief Commissioner of the Western Australian Company's settlement at Australind and later a member of the Legislative Council.
The suburb name was probably derived from 'Cloverdale Estate', a subdivision in the area advertised for sale in 1906. It was officially recognised as a suburb name in 1954.
In 2006 after the Kwinana Freeway was built through the suburb of Jandakot effectively cutting off a portion of Jandakot to the west the City of Cockburn requested permission to create a new locality for this western portion.The City suggested the name of Cockburn Central which aligned with the name of the railway station as well as their “Cockburn Central Structure Plan” for the redevelopment of this area.The City surveyed all affected residents and community support was for Cockburn Central to be the new name. Cockburn Central was approved on 26th October 2006.
Originally the present 'Como' comprised of three large land grants, Swan Locations 40, 41, and 42. Edmund Hugh Comer, a farmer of Christchurch, acquired the land by succession in February 1891. Extensive subdivision of the land was commenced in 1905 under the name Como Estate, a name thought to be derived from the owner's surname or after the town situated on the shore of Lake Di Como in northern Italy.
'Connolly' was the name adopted for this suburb adjoining Joondalup in 1980. Named in honour of John Connolly who held land in the area in 1838. Connolly was a private in the 63rd Regiment who arrived in the colony in 1829 and who farmed at Upper Swan and Bindoon after being discharged in 1834.
Coodanup was approved as a suburb name in 5th October 1970. The meaning and derivation of 'Coodanup' is unknown although HW Bunbury, in his book 'Early Days in WA.' (1836), gives 'Colanup' as the Aboriginal name for the mouth of the Serpentine River. This area was subdivided as 'Coodanup Park Estate' 1956.
The suburb of 'Coogee' takes its name from the lake in the area. Originally, this lake was named Lake Munster after Prince William, the Earl of Munster and later King William IV. The Aboriginal name Kou-Gee was recorded in 1841 by Thomas Watson and variously spelt as Koojee, Coojee and Coogee, which gradually gained pre-eminence over the old name. In 1955 the Nomenclature Advisory Board adopted the present spelling exclusively.
'Coolbellup' was recorded by AC Gregory in 1842 as the Aboriginal name of a lake in the area. Surveys by RM King in 1877 showed the local name to be 'North Lake' and both names were shown on plans. The feature is in fact the northernmost of the chain of Lakes lying between Mandurah and the Swan River. In 1954 most of the land west of the lake was resumed by the State Housing Commission and an intensive housing scheme was planned. A meeting in January 1957 decided that the place should be called 'Coolbellup' in preference to North Lake.
'Coolbinia' was for many years regarded as part of Mount Lawley. Development was mainly in the late 1940's and early 1950's and in 1953. The name chosen for a new school in the area in August 1953 was Coolbinia, an Aboriginal name meaning 'Mistletoe' and it soon came to be adopted for the adjoining suburban area. Street names in Coolbinia commemorate many town and district names in Western Australia, eg., Carnarvon, Ardross, Marradon, Koorda etc.
Is named after Lake Cooloongup, a salt lake in the district. Lake Cooloongup was recorded by Surveyor AC Gregory in 1843. The meaning of the Aboriginal name is not known. The suburb was named on 5th April 974.
Derived from Coolup Agricultural Area declared in 1893. The area was first settled in 1886 and the townsite was gazetted in 1899. The towns name is Indigenous Australian in origin and is thought to mean the place of the wild turkey. Coolup was approved on 18th August 1997.
In September 1886, the Commissioner of Crown Lands, John Forrest, announced his intention of subdividing an area of Crown Land between Perth and Fremantle into suburban lots and asked His Excellency, Governor Sir Frederick Napier Broome, to suggest a name. The Governor suggested 'Cottesloe' on 21 September after "the title lately bestowed on a member of the Fremantle family". 'Cottesloe' was named after Thomas Francis Fremantle, Lord Cottesloe. First Baron of Swanbourne (in 1874), the older brother to Captain Charles Howe Fremantle who, on2 May 1829 raised the 1st British flag at Fremantle.
Craigie is one of the four 'Whitfords' suburbs that resulted from the State Government rezoning a large area of coastal land for development in 1969. Craigie was chosen as a suburb name in 1970 and honours an early councillor of the City of Wanneroo who did much work in developing the city.
Most of the land comprising the suburb of Crawley was acquired by Henry Charles Sutherland, one of the colony's first surveyors, in 1837. Sutherland named his property 'Crawley' after his mother's maiden name (Anna Crawley). The land was later purchased by Sir George Shenton who, upon his death in 1909, bequeathed much of it to the Crown with the final transfer being to Kind George the Fifth in 1914, for use by the University of Western Australia.
An Aboriginal word meaning "meeting place" - derived from an Aboriginal dialect of south west Australia. Approved as a locality name in 18th July 1981.
Currambine was approved as a suburb name in 1980. The name was chosen by the City of Wanneroo in 1979 from a book on Aboriginal Place Names by AW Reed. It is an Aboriginal word from New South Wales meaning "heaps of rocks".
Return to alphabet index
The suburb name honours Henry Daglish who was elected to Parliament as the member for Subiaco in 1901. Daglish was Premier of the State in 1904-05 and also served as Treasurer and Minister for Works. He was Mayor of Subiaco in 1903-04 and 1906-07. A townsite of Daglish was declared in 1928.
The eastern portion of the present suburb of Dalkeith was originally Swan Location 85 of 320 acres, assigned to Adam Armstrong in 1831. Armstrong, a widower, arrived in the Colony aboard the 'Gilmore' with his six children in 1829. Prior to coming, he was the manager of the Earl of Dalkeith's estate in Scotland and when he erected a cottage in 1833 on his land, he named it 'Dalkeith Cottage' and raised goats and horses on the property. The Aboriginal name for the place where this cottage stood was 'Katamboordup'.
Named after one of the earliest settler families of the Wanneroo area. The Darch family settled in the area in 1860, and Darch was approved as a suburb name in 1997.
An area of farmlet subdivision between Byford and Wungong, Darling Downs derives its name from the nature of the country and its proximity to the Darling Range. The name was first used as an estate name in 1977, and adopted as a suburb name on 1st May1997.
The name 'Darlington' is derived from adding the English suffix 'ton' meaning 'town' to the name of the range in the area - Darling Range. This range was first named 'General Darling Range' by Charles Fraser, Government Botanist with Captain James Stirling in 1827 after the Governor of the parent colony in New South Wales, General Sir Ralph Darling. The name was first used by Dr Alfred Waylen who established the 'Darlington Vineyard' here in 1883-4. The townsite of Darlington was Gazetted on 1st December 1939.
Dawesville was the unofficial name used by developers in the 1950's. Land subdivided in this area was owned by L.S. Dawe and R.L. Dawe after whom "Dawesville Estate" was named. This unofficial name became widely accepted by residents of the area and was approved on 16th May 1980.
This name uses the name of Walter Warner Day and the suffix 'ton'.
Mr Day was a settler of the area who arrived in 1912 and was decorated with the Military Medal in World War I. Whilst Mr Day was considered to be worthy of recognition, the name "Day" was not deemed to be suitable as a locality name in its own right. Instead, it was resolved that the use of 'tun' or 'ton' after a name (which is a European convention that indicated the feature being named was an enclosure, estate, homestead or settlement area) would be appropriate in this instance.
Dayton was approved on 20th December 2010.
'Dianella' is the botanical name of a small plant which grew in profusion in the area prior to development. It flowers in spring with a star-like purple flower which develops into a blue berry. The Dianella area began developing in the late 1950s, and the name for the suburb was adopted in 1958.
The suburb of Doubleview derives its name from the extensive views attainable from the higher parts of the area, both to the coast to the west and to the hills and city to the east. The name was first used by developers Dudley and Dwyer when promoting a development there about 1930.
A suburb of Mandurah, Dudley Park, derives its name from the estate of 'Dudley Park' developed in this area in the 1950s. It was approved as a suburb name in 1989.
This suburb name was approved in 1969. The name was first used in the area as a promotional name, and it is of Scottish origin.
Locality covers the original Dwellingup townsite and surrounding properties. Dwellingup locality wasapproved on 18th August 1997.
Dwellingup townsite is located in a timber and fruitgrowing area in the Darling Range ESE of Pinjarra.Townsite lots were surveyed by Surveyor W.F. Rudall in 1909 after the Lands Department became aware that the site was planned as the terminus of the "Pinjarra-Marrinup Railway".Names suggested for the place by Rudall were "Dwellingerup" or "Marrinup", after nearby brooks, or "McLarty" after a local MLA who had been very active concerning the railway.Surveyor General H.F. Johnston chose "Dwellingupp" after being misinformed regarding the spelling of Dwellingerup Brook.Ignoring a suggestion from the Under Secretary to amend the name to "Dwellingdown", the Minister for Lands approved the name as "Dwellingup" on 3rd December 1909.Eventually, the spelling "Dwellingupp" was chosen by order of the Under Secretary for Lands, and the townsite was gazetted as Dwellingupp in 8th February 1910(Govt. Gazettal page 544). The spelling was amended to Dwellingup in on 8th October 1915.(Govt. Gazette, page 3381).
Dwellingup is an Aboriginal name said to mean "place of nearby water". The town was burnt out by a bushfire in 1961 but was rebuilt.
The double p spelling in the original gazettal of this name was used because the Lands and Surveys Department had adopted a system for spelling Aboriginal names developed by the Royal Geographical Society.A number of Aboriginal names ending in "up" were for a time spelt with the "upp" ending (including Kirupp, Kulikupp, Manjimupp and Mungalupp).The RGS system had a rule that vowels are pronounced as in Italian and consonants as in English.This would have meant that names ending in "up" should have been pronounced as "oop", because the Italian "u" was a long "u", as in flute.These Aboriginal names were meant to be pronounced as "up", and the Department asked the RGS for a rule to assist in correct pronunciation.The RGS solution was that doubling the following consonant shortened the preceding vowel, and this meant the "upp" ending ensured the "up" pronunciation.However, this particular rule was rescinded in 1915 for SW towns with the suffix "up", as the Australian way of pronouncing the letter "u" was almost always short, and rarely the Italian "oo".
Return to alphabet index
The name is descriptive; the district being situated east of Cannington Station. Boundaries for this suburb were first defined in the 1959 Metropolitan Street Directory. Previously, East Cannington was a part of the suburb of Queens Park.
This suburb name is a descriptive name as the area is situated east of Fremantle. East Fremantle was declared a municipality (comprising the old Fremantle suburbs of 'Plympton' and 'Richmond') on 2 April 1897.
Another descriptive name, this was being used for the suburb from at least the 1880s. It was approved as a bounded suburb in 1954.
This suburb derives its name from its location east of Rockingham. In 1992 the locality was renamed Challenger however this was amended back to East Rockingham at the request of the City of Rockingham.
East Victoria Park
Also a descriptive name, development of the suburb of East Victoria Park commenced in the late 1800s. An estate named Bickford was promoted there and used 'Victoria Park East' to describe its location.
Eden Hill was approved as a suburb in 1954. The name is believed to come from a farm that once existed in the area. It is also said to be an estate name used by Henry Brockman of Gingin when he subdivided the land in 1892.
Edgewater was approved as a suburb name in 1974. It derives its name from its location on the western shores of Lake Joondalup.
This name Eglinton was approved on 7th May 1973 but as a name for a port to be constructed about 8 kms south of the Moore River. The approval for the locality name in this area was approved 19th February 1974.Due to possible confusion with the feature Eglinton Rocks, south of Yanchep, the localities of Eglinton, Maranock and Myuna were amalgamated into one area and renamed Wilbinga on 6 November 1975. Concurrently, the existing locality of Ningana was renamed Eglinton. It is named after the Barque 'Eglinton' which was wrecked on rocks, which now also bear its name in 1852. Eglinton Rocks are located off the coast adjacent to the suburb. During the recognition of new localities in the City of Wanneroo on 9 January 1980, Eglinton was defined as a locality.
The suburb is named after the Ellen Brook, a tributary of the Swan River, which forms part of its Eastern boundary. Ellen Brook is named after Ellen Stirling, the wife of the colony's first Governor, James Stirling. Approval for this locality name was given on 22nd August 1990.
The name honours an early settler, George Embleton. Embleton arrived in the colony in 1829 as a servant of Dr John Watley. Watley, who died in 1830, settled in Bayswater district.
The suburb is named after Lieutenant Archibald Erskine of the 63rd Regiment. Erskine was a landowner in the Murray/Mandurah district and was appointed a Justice of the peace for the Murray district in 1831. The suburb was approved 5th October 1970.
The name Etmilyn was chosen as the former Etmilyn railway siding was in this area.The siding was first established in the early 1920's as a steam locomotive watering point with water coming from a small dam and gravity fed to an overhead tank.
In Welsh, Etmilyn means "small animal".Etmilyn was approved on 18th August 1997.
Return to alphabet index
This suburb was named after Falcon Bay. Falcon, pronounced “Fawlkn”) was approved as a suburb name on 13th November 1967 and gazetted on 8 March 1968. Many of the streets in the adjoining estate were named after yachts and 'Falcon' was the name of a yacht, the crew of which won a silver medal in the Olympic yacht races in Melbourne in 1956.
Derived from Fairbridge Farm School which was established in 1912 in this area. Fairbridge was approved on 18th August 1997.
Fairbridge Farm School was the first of a number of similar institutions established by the Child Emigration Society and is the only remaining site where tangible evidence remains to illustrate how the institution was organised. Fairbridge Village is important for its associations with Kingsley and Ruby Fairbridge.
On 15 April 1912, Kingsley Fairbridge and his wife Ruby Fairbridge arrived in Albany, Western Australia, from England and made their way to Pinjarra, arriving on 16 July that same year to establish the world's first Fairbridge Farm School. The school opened on 19 October 1912. Kingsley wanted to see "little children shedding the bondage of bitter circumstances and stretching their legs and minds amid the thousand interests of the farm."
From 1913 until 1982, Fairbridge Farm School assisted 3,580 children who came to Fairbridge under various child migration schemes. The school provided education in task-learning, husbandry, metal work and wood work. During World War II, Dutch refugee children evacuated from Indonesia were based at Fairbridge while waiting to be reunited with their families. An airfield was constructed and operated from the school during WWII until the 1950s.
Development of the suburb of Ferndale commenced in 1964 and the City of Canning proposed to name the area Shearnstead after an early landowner. The alternative name 'Ferndale' coined by developers, was approved as the suburb name in 1965
The Floreat area was known for many years as the Limekilns Estate. The name of Floreat was the choice of the City of Perth Town Clerk, Mr WE Bold. Floreat means "let it flourish" and is part of the city's coat of arms.
This suburb is one of many place names in Western Australia that honours the states first Premier, Sir John Forrest. It was originally named East Jandakot, but was changed to Forrestdale in 1915 to avoid confusion with Jandakot.
Local folklore suggests that the name comes from Charles Hale who settled in the area in 1902 and planted a crop amongst the trees. A neighbour referred to him wanting a forest and a field at the same time and the name was later applied to the area. It is believed however, to honour John or Alexander Forrest, although their connection with the area has not been fully established. A Forrestfield Progress Association was formed as early as 1921 and the name is shown on plans as Forrestfield for 1944.
Named after Captain Charles Howe Fremantle who arrived at the Swan River Colony on 2 May 1829, on the HMS 'Challenger'. Fremantle had been despatched from the Cape of Good Hope on the 20 March of that year, by Commodore Schomberg of the Indian Squadron, and after anchoring off the mouth of the Swan River, hoisted the British flag on the South Head, and took formal possession in the name of His Majesty King George IV, of "all that part of New Holland which is not included within the territory of New South Wales". The name Fremantle has, at times, and in various records been incorrectly spelt as 'Freemantle'.
This suburb is named after an early landowner in the area, William John Furniss. Furniss owned land here in 1929-30. The area apparently became known as Furnissdale when subdivision of the area occurred in the 1940s. The Shire of Murray sought official recognition of the name in 1968.
Return to alphabet index
So named because of gardens established in 1827 by Captain James Stirling. Stirling planted seeds brought from Sydney. Shown as Garden Island on Stirling's plan Historical Plan297,299. A well about half way up the western side of the island may be the location of Stirling's "garden", although it could have been dug when the first colonists occupied the island for a time in 1829.
Originally named "Ile Buache" by French Expedition under Commander M.L. Freycinet 1801-03, in honour of the French geographer Philippe Bauche (1700-1773).
Garden, Carnac and Rottnest Islands formed the "Isles of Louis Napoleon" named by the French Expedition 1801-03. This was officially changed by Stirling on 9th June 1829.
The rural suburb of Gidgegannup derives its name from Gidgegannup Spring, which was first recorded by surveyors passing through the area in 1852. Gidgegannup is an Aboriginal word meaning 'place where spears are made'. 'Gidgie' is the word for spear. A general approval for aplace name was given in 1978.
Development of this predominantly public housing suburb commenced in 1970 and was the third stage in the establishment of post war suburbs along Wanneroo Road.'Girrawheen' is an eastern states Aboriginal word meaning 'place of flowers'.The locality was approved on 18th March 1970.
The hills suburb of Glen Forrest was first settled as a timber milling centre as early as 1877. In 1902 the Government declared a townsite here and named it Amherst. It was renamed Smith's Mill the next year, and in 1915 changed to Glen Forrest.This name was Gazetted on 29th October 1915.The name was the suggestion of a local resident, and combines 'Glen' from the nature of the topography and 'Forrest' from John Forrest, the first Premier of Western Australia.
The suburb of 'Glendalough' was originally granted to Thomas Helms in 1837. In March 1898, the northern portion was transferred to a 'Clerk in Holy Orders', Daniel O'Ryan, who gave his address as 'Glendalough, Leederville'. It appears that this area had earlier been designated as the parish of Glendalough by the Roman Catholic Church. Glendalough in Ireland is a famous Catholic centre in the County of Wicklow. A hermitage was established there in the seventh century by Saint Kevin. The name means 'valley of the two lakes' and it is significant that Glendalough in Western Australia is situated between Lake Monger and Herdsman Lake.
Gnangara is a rural suburb in the City of Wanneroo. It was approved on 8th January 1980 and derives its name from the lake located there, Lake Gnangara. Gnangara is derived from the Aboriginal word Knangara possibly meaning “swampy” or “spring” (water flows into the lake from the NW corner).
Previously named Peelhurst, Golden Bay was approved as a suburb name in 1985. It is a developer's promotional name, derived from the golden sands of the beach there.
This suburb takes its name from the hill, recorded by Surveyor Ranford in 1878. It is believed to be derived from the fact that cape gooseberries thrived in the area and had been used as early as 1861.The townsite name was Gazetted 8th June 1959.
Gorrie was named as the area is known as the Gorrie Forest Block which was possibly in recognition of early orchadists in the district and the road name.
Bert and Henry Gorrie are recorded as owning the property in this area circa 1913.Bert acquired sole ownership in November 1915, and cleared 2,000 acres to rid it of the farmers' double curse of
"York Road Poison" and zamia palms.
Soon after the house was finished, Bert and his wife Mona opened up the non-viable property for the then
novel idea of farm-stay holidays. Visitors, up to 20 at a time, were collected from the Chidlow Railway
Station on the farm's spring trap or 3-horse-lorry.
After Bert and Mona Gorrie left to live in Victoria in 1953, their son-in-law Terence (Charles) Chambers of
Claremont took over the property and ran beef cattle.
Locality boundary and name approved 5 November 1997.
Development of the district of Gosnells dates back to 1829 when the rich soils and abundant waters of the Canning River attracted early settlers. One of the early pioneers was John Okey Davis who arrived in WA with his wife and seven children on the ship 'Lotus' in 1829. Davis' land was eventually sold to Charles Gosnell in 1862. Gosnells was a director of a famous London firm of John Gosnell and Co, perfumery manufacturers, and it was from this association that the name of the area originated.
This suburb is named after 'Greenfields Estate', a promotional developer's name used for the area in 1980. It was approved on 7th December 1989.It was previously known as Goegrup, East Mandurah and Riverside Gardens.
Named after Greenmount Hill, a point on the road to York referred to in colonial documents as early as 1831. The name is descriptive – the mount was said to have had a distinct green tinge in the colouring of the trees.
Name derived from the promotional estate name Greenwood Forest used by the Gold Land Development Corporation who began development of this area in 1969.
The history of the suburb of Guildford had its beginnings in 1827 when Captain James Stirling was despatched by Governor Darling of New South Wales to explore part of the West Coast of Australia. Whilst exploring the Swan River, Stirling was favourably impressed by the fertile alluvial flats around the area now known as Guildford, and replenished his water supplies from Success Spring at Success Hill on the west bank of the Swan River at Bassendean. The junction of the Swan and Helena Rivers was also chosen as the site for a town, and the first surveys were carried out in the Town of Guildford by HC Sutherland in late 1829. The name was chosen after the town of Guildford, in Surrey, England, where James and Ellen were married.Their property was named “Woodbridge”, which was probably the choice of Ellen Stirling, as she came from 'Woodbridge' in Surrey.
The suburb of Gwelup takes its name from a small swampy lake located in the southern portion of the suburb. The feature is recorded in Lands Department records in 1878 as Gwelup Swamp and in recent years as the surrounds have been cleared and filled, it has been recorded as a lake. The Aboriginal meaning of the name has been derived from 'Gwelgannow' which means to 'shift the position' and 'step aside' and would therefore probably be 'the lake that shifted position'.
Return to alphabet index
The name of this rural suburb was approved in 1972 and derives its name from the feature of the same name. 'Hackett Gully' is believed to honour Thomas Hackett (1814-1866) who established a market garden in the hills district.
Halls Head is named after Henry Hall who was granted land in the area in the 1830s. The suburb was officially named on 5th October 1970, but had been locally known by the name for some years previously.
The name of this suburb honours the district's first land owner, Edward Hamersley. Hamersley owned and farmed land near Guildford, and in the late 1800s built a summer home in what is now North Beach, and named it 'The Castle'. It was on the site of what is now the Castle Hotel.
The earliest known settler at Hamilton Hill was Sydney Smith, the agent of Captain George Robb. Robb arrived in Western Australia in 1830 and took up land south of Fremantle. During the next 12 months Smith was actively engaged in establishing Robb's farm. In a letter dated 27 August 1830, he gives his address as Hamilton Hill.The name Hamilton is derived from the Hamilton Ross Company of Cape Town which operated the 'Leda', the ship that brought Robb and Smith to Western Australia. The founder of the company, Hamilton Ross, had been born in Galway, Ireland in 1775, into a family that had moved from Scotland about two generations prior to his birth. The first master of the 'Leda' had been Captain John Northwood and several of Hamilton Ross's nephews were indentured to become master mariners on the 'Leda', including Richard Hamilton Allen, whose son, William Hamilton Allen, later settled in Western Australia.
Formerly part of the rural locality of Banjup, Hammond Park is named after James Hammond, a pioneer of the Jandakot district. "In January, 1887, James Hammond took up the lease on a 100 acre block south-east of Thomsons Lake. This selection had a small lake in its north-west corner, and Hammond judged it to be good ground. James Hammond was a skilled craftsman and had lived in America building fine pianos until his eyesight started to fail. His firm sent him to England for specialist treatment, but no help could be given, so, deciding to rebuild his life, Hammond sailed for for Australia and took up the land at Jandakot soon after arriving at Fremantle. At Jandakot James Hammond and his sons Chris and Syd established a thriving market garden which has produced continuously for 90 years and still flourished today" - from Cockburn, the Making of a Community, by Michael Berson. The suburb name was approved on 15th March 2002.
Approval was given on 9th July 2007 to rename a portion of Forrestdale to Harrisdale.
The Harris family were one of the first settlers in the area (1898) with 240 acres bounded by Warton and Wright Roads.
Approval granted on the 1st April 2008 for a portion of Brookdale Locality to be renamed to Haynes.
Named after the Haynes family who owned land and operated a dairy farm in the northern portion of the area for many years. Members of the family have made a significant contribution to local community and organisations such as sporting clubs for many years and helped establish many other groups.
The suburb of Hazelmere is mostly contained in land which was the subject of one of the Colony's earliest grants made to Captain James Stirling in 1829. This was Stirling's 'Woodbridge' grant fronting both the Swan and Helena Rivers. In 1883, James Morrison, an auctioneer of Guildford, purchased land in the area. He subdivided his property into small agricultural lots. The name chosen for the estate was Hazelmere, the reason for this choice being to link it with Guildford, as there is a Haslemere in England which is a suburb of Guildford, Surrey. The reason for the different spelling in the name as compared to the original is unknown.The locality name was approved on 21st May 1972.
Heathridge is a descriptive suburb name, chosen because of the heath-type vegetation growing on the sand ridges in the area.
Descriptive name, after the valley of the Helena River where the suburb is located. The river was named in 1829, but it is not known after whom. Helena Valley was first settled by the Smith family of Clayton Farm about 1850. Approval as a locality name was on 22nd February 1961.
The suburb of Henderson comprises land resumed by the Commonwealth Government in 1915 for defence purposes. A large naval base was planned by Admiral Sir Reginald Henderson during the first world war, and the area was sometimes referred to as 'Henderson's Naval Base'. This plan did not eventuate. Originally named Success (1968) and renamed Henderson with approval for the name 22nd January 1973.
The suburb of Henley Brook takes its name from one of the earliest named areas in Western Australia. In March 1827, Captain Stirling was exploring the Swan River and when he reached the extremity of navigable water for their long boat, he made a close inspection of the country. Stirling named an area near Upper Swan 'Henley Park' and this name was used as a property name in 1830 by WH Mackie and FC Irwin when they settled here. A brook flowing though the property was recorded as Henley Brook in 1842 and this name was approved as the suburb name in May 1972.
This area takes its name from Herdsman Lake. The lake was first known as Great Lake, but was recorded as Herdsman Lake by the Surveyor General, JS Roe in 1836. The name is probably descriptive as the area around it provided good grazing and stock were most likely herded in the area.
William Locke Brockman, pastoralist and stockbreeder, arrived at the Swan River Colony in January 1830 and took up a land grant in Upper Swan. Well-to-do, Brockman brought with him considerable livestock, including three rams and 46 pure merino ewes, a prefabricated house and seven servants. He named his grant 'Herne Hill', after his wife’s, Anne Francis Isabella Hamersley, family estate and soon set to work developing it. He lived on his land at Herne Hill, was a member of many societies and served on the Legislative Council. He died at Herne Hill in 1872.Though widely known as Herne Hill the locality boundary wasn’t approved until 21st May 1972.
This locality was named after Robert Herron, an early settler who leased land in this area in 1872.The name was approved on 16th May 1980.Herron Point on the opposite side of the Harvey Estuary is also named for the same gentleman.
Land in the Highgate area was first taken up in 10 acre farmlets around 1860. One of the early owners is believed to have named the area 'Highgate Hill' after the town of Highgate in Kent, England. St Albans Church, an early landmark in the area, was opened in 1889 and is named after St Albans Cathedral in Highgate, England.
This suburb was formerly part of Maida Vale and was officially named on 2nd June 1978. The name was introduced by a subdivider 'Western Agencies' in 1958. One of the partners in the firm instigated the name, which was that of a village in Buckinghamshire, England-his birth place.
This area was formally part of the locality Brookdale however on the 1st April 2008 a portion was renamed to Hilbert.
The name Hilbert was chosen for the Hilbert Family who were dairy farmers in the area along with the large wetlands which were generally referred to as the Hilbert Road Swamp which was found on an unconstructed road called Hilbert road.
This suburb is named after Bertram John Hillary, a Gallipoli war veteran who died in 1957 at the age of 62, who set up the first beach shack on a lonely stretch of beach in 1930. That stretch of beach eventually came to be named after its best known inhabitant, courtesy of the army which had use of the land during World War II. The name was suggested as a suburb name by the City of Wanneroo, and was approved in 1971.
This suburb is named in honour of Alfred Hillman, who arrived in Western Australia in 1831 to take an appointment as colonial draftsman. He distinguished himself as a draftsman, surveyor and explorer, including early surveys in the Rockingham area. The suburb was named in 1970 and Gazetted on 5th April 1974.
Named after 'Hilton Park', a reserve in the area, it was included on a list of postal districts submitted by the Postmaster General in May 1954. The postal district was shown as 'Hilton Park' until May 1959 when it was agreed that the suffix 'Park' would no longer be used.
A new suburb that was formerly part of Wanneroo, Hocking was approved on 1st December 1994. The name honours Herbert Hocking - landowner in the area, first Chairman of the Wanneroo Road Board and member of the Board, 1903-1931. He was also treasurer of the Agricultural Society in 1909.
"Holyoake" sawmill was originally established by the South-West Timber Hewers Co-operative Society LTD and named after George Jacob Holyoake.The siding at this mill settlement on the "Pinjarra-Marrinup" railway was named Holyoake by gazettal on 23rd September 1910). Holyoake Siding was removed from the stops by Gazettal on 28thAugust 1964.The name Holyoake was to apply to the locality in 1979.
Hopeland is a farming area west of Serpentine that was formerly part of the Peel Estate Group Settlement Scheme. Group 46, formed in 1923, was named Hopeland, with this name in use for some time before the the name was approved as a suburb name on 1st May1997.
The suburb of Hope Valley takes its name from the property name of its first settler, George Postans. Between 1882 and 1886 a small community developed in this area, with Postans the first settler, followed by Angel de San Miguel and John Mortimer. This small band of hopeful settlers built homes and established small mixed farms, naming their community Hope Valley. The locality name was approved in 1962.
This suburb takes its name from a crossing loop on the Eastern Railway. Named 'Park View' in 1912 from its proximity to the National Park but, because of confusion with nearby stations, viz:- Swan View and Bellevue, it was renamed. Hovea is the name of a purple flowered native plant, a common sight in the Darling Range. It was named after AP Hove, a Polish botanist.
This suburb name was suggested by the Town of Gosnells in 1974. The name was a promotional name used by developers for the area.
Return to alphabet index
Name proposed by the City of Wanneroo in 1979 and approved in 1980. Iluka is an Aboriginal word from an eastern states dialect and is said to mean 'near the sea'.
Inglehope was developed as a Forests Departments outstation alongside the Dwellingup-Boddington railway.The Inglehope Siding was closed in 1960.The settlement was abandoned in 1961 after fire came through the area. The locality name was approved on 18 August 1997.
This suburb was developed by Gold Estates of Australia during the gold boom era of the 1890s. Part of it was named 'Inglewood Estate' by E W Hamer in 1895. Its origin is uncertain, but it may have been named after Inglewood in California, USA or after a Norwegian barque of that name which called at Fremantle during the 1890s.
The area of this suburb was originally known by the Aboriginal name 'Njookenbooroo' (sometimes spelt Ngurgenboro or Noorgenboro). This name was too difficult to pronounce or spell, and in 1927 an alternative name was sought. A list of Aboriginal words compiled by Daisy Bates was provided and 'Innaloo', the name of an Aboriginal woman from Dongara was chosen. The name was approved in 1927.
Return to alphabet index
The name was proposed by City of Wanneroo after Lake Jandabup and approved on 8th January 1980. Jandabup is an Aboriginal word whose meaning is possibly “place of little eagle” or “bark of banksia”. A collection of oral histories about the Wanneroo Wetlands published by the Water Authority of WA in May 1994 states that this lake was sometimes referred to as Big Dundebar Lake.
The suburb of Jandakot takes its name from the townsite, Jandakot and Lake Jandakot which was recorded with this name as early as 1844. It is an Aboriginal word said to mean 'place of the Whistling Eagle'. During subsequent years the name was recorded variously as 'Jandicoot', 'Jandakoot' and 'Jandakott' but the spelling eventually adopted was 'Jandakot'. The lake name was changed to Forrestdale Lake in 1973. The Government subdivided the Jandakot area into small farmlets in 1889.
This suburb name was approved on 2nd June 1994. Formerly part of Stratton and 'Red Hill', it takes its name from the brook which flows through the suburb. Jane Brook is believed to be named after Jane Currie, the wife of Fremantle's first Harbour Master.
Jarrahdale is a descriptive name, derived from its situation in some of Western Australia's best Jarrah forest. The place came about as a result of the granting of timber concessions here in 1872. The Jarrahdale Timber Coy constructed a railway for the transport of timber from Jarrahdale through Mundijong to Rockingham. The locality was approved on 1st May1997 however the name had been in use for some time before this.
Name was proposed by the City of Wanneroo in 1979 and was approved 8th January 1980. This is an Aboriginal word meaning "a bare hill" which probably refers to Eglinton Hill located within the locality.
Derived from Jolimont Terrace, a street name in a subdivision of Swan Loc 396, subdivided in October 1891 by the owner John Henry Maddock. John Henry Maddock was a Melbourne solicitor who acquired the land on July 2nd 1891. It is believed he named Jolimont Terrace after the Melbourne suburb of Jolimont which was in turn named after 'Jolimont', the residence of Governor Latrobe, built 1839.
This suburb is named after Lake Joondalup, situated on the eastern side of the suburb. Joondalup is an Aboriginal word first recorded in 1837, and possibly means "place of of whiteness or glistening". Another account states that a 'joondal' is a creature that can only move backwards.
The first of the northern suburbs which were born in the post War period of the 1940s was Joondanna. Following the rejection of Belair, a fashionable suburb of Hollywood, California, as a suitable name for the proposed subdivision, the Perth Road Board launched a competition to find a suitable name. The competition was won by Mrs A Curtis of Donnybrook. She once lived in Osborne Park and suggested Joondanna as this was the name given by a Mr. Banks to his property. He is believed to have been the first settler and owner of land in the area. 567 entries were attracted in the competition which was held in August 1939.
Return to alphabet index
This suburb was named on 13th December 1901 following a request by 32 residents of the area for a townsite to be declared. The residents chose the name 'Calamunnda' as the name of the proposed townsite, combining two Aboriginal words recorded in a book on Aboriginal language by Bishop Salvado. 'Cala' signifies 'fire, home, district, settlement' and 'Mun-da' signifies 'forest; bush' and the residents hoped it would be considered an appropriate name. The name was respelt 'Kalamunnda' by the Surveyor General, but later in 1901 was amended to Kalamunda.
Kallaroo is one of the four 'Whitfords' suburbs that resulted from the State Government rezoning a large area of coastal land for development in 1969. Kallaroo was chosen as a suburb name in 1970 and is an Aboriginal word meaning 'road to the water'.
This suburb was formerly the southern portion of the Collier Pine Plantation. Karawara is an Aboriginal word meaning 'green', and was approved as the suburb name in 1973.
Kardinya is an Aboriginal word meaning 'sunrise', and was first used for a road name in this area in 1955. The name was approved as a suburb name in 1961.
The suburb of Karnup takes its name from the townsite it encompasses.Karnup townsite was declared in 1924. It is an Aboriginal name, the meaning of which is unknown, taken from nearby Karnup Brook (now known as Karnet Brook).
The name Karragullen has been in use for this area since 1913 when the townsite of this name was gazetted. The townsite was at the head of the Upper Darling Range Railway. Karragullen is the Aboriginal name for the Cannington area as supplied by the Aboriginal 'Tommy Bimbar' in 1916. Another source claims the name means 'red gully'.
The term katta is well known, and is given as the Aboriginal word for a hill or the top of any height in the early Aboriginal vocabularies. The karra is more difficult as it may be derived from: karri (a crab), karak (the red-tailed black cockatoo), kara (a spider), karh-rh (an orchid with an edible root). The meaning of the combined word could therefore be the hill, or top of the hill, where the orchid with the edible root is found, or the hill frequented by the red-tailed black cockatoo, or the hill where spiders are found and so on. It is not definitely known which is the exact area called by the Aborigines 'Karrakatta' but it is generally thought to be been the top of Mount Eliza.
Karrakup is a large area of forest and farm country east of Byford. It derives its name from 'karrak', the Nyoongar word for the red-tailed black cockatoo which is prevalent in the area. It was approved as a suburb name on 1st May 1997.
The development of the area today known as karrinyup had its beginnings in the early 1840s when Samuel Moore took up a grant of 780 acres in the northern part of the suburb. Moore's grant, Swan Location 92, was surveyed by P Chauncey in 1844 and Chauncey recorded a large swamp just to the east of Karrinyup as Careniup Swamp. This swamp is still known by this name today, and is the name from which Karrinyup is derived. When the golf course was being developed in the late 1920s the Foundation Committee altered Careniup to create Karrinyup
This suburb was named after Kelmscott in Oxfordshire, England. An announcement was made in July 1830 that in honour of Archdeacon Scott the town would be named after his birthplace. The Archdeacon, returning to England from New South Wales aboard the HMS 'Success', was stranded at the new Swan River settlement when the ship struck a reef off Fremantle in November 1829. For two months he was the only ordained minister in the colony and, with the assistance of the settlers and the garrison, he built a temporary church at Perth where he held the colony's first Christmas service.
This suburb was named after 'Kensington Park' racecourse which was situated near the Coode Street Jetty. This course was established in the 1890s as the South Perth Racecourse, but was later changed to Kensington. It is most likely that the name Kensington was adopted from that of the prestigious London suburb
Named after 'Kenwick Park' - the estate of Wallace Bickley. Bickley's original property was Canning Location 3 which he called 'Craigie'. He purchased other lands in the vicinity including Canning Location 11 in 1854. In 1860, he advertised for sale or lease, the 'Kenwick Park and Springs Estates'. Kenwick was included in a list of official postal districts compiled in May 1959 and the original boundaries were defined in the 1959 metropolitan road guide. In an article on Kenwick, it is suggested that Bickley named his homestead "after an estate in England he very much admired".
The name is derived from the Aboriginal name of a pool in the Serpentine River in the northern part of the locality. The locality name and the pool name (Kerulup Pool) are spelt differently. The locality name KERALUP was proposed by Trevor Walley, Noongar elder of Rockingham who said the name roughly translates to 'the place of the boomerang' and may refer to the hunting tactic of casting boomerangs across a wetland to scare ducks.
This suburb is named after Kew Street, one of the first roads in the district. The road is most likely named after Kew in Melbourne. The name has been in use as a suburb name since at least 1949.Kewdale became a light industrial area after the 2nd World War but developed into one of Perth's largest industrial areas after the construction of the Kewdale Freight Terminal by the W.A.G.R. in the early 1970's. Kewdale is in two Local Government areas, Belmont and Kalamunda.
Name proposed by the Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale after Keysbrook Townsite, which is within the locality and was adopted as a locality on 1st May 1997.
The townsite of Keysbrook is located 62 km south of Perth, between Armadale and Pinjarra.It takes its name from a railway siding established here in 1897. The siding is believed to be named after Thomas Charles Key (1847-1885) who leased land there for a time, and whose name was once used as the local name of what is now Myara Brook.The townsite was gazetted in 1916.
Formerly part of Lockridge, Kiara was approved as a suburb name in 1990. Kiara is an Aboriginal word for the white cockatoo (eastern states dialect).
Although the locality of Kings Park is shown as being within the City of Perth the park is run and managed by The Kings Park Board who is separate from any Local Government Authority.
On the 3rd March 2016 the City of Perth Act 2016 received Royal Assent.In this Act local government boundary were amended.As part of the Act a boundary change resulted in Kings Park now being situated wholly with the City of Perth.
The suburb of Kingsley is named after the village of Kingsley which is near Winchester in Hampshire, England. The name was chosen for the historical association with the first owner of land in the area, William Kernot Shenton. Shenton was born in Winchester in 1802. The suburb name was approved in 1974.
Kinross is named after a village near Perth in Scotland. The name was chosen because the adjoining suburb of Burns is also a name of Scottish origin. The name was approved for the suburb in 1989.
Koondoola is an Aboriginal word meaning 'emu', and was approved as the name for this suburb on 18th March 1970.
The name of this suburb is derived from two Aboriginal words, 'Koong' meaning 'hill' and 'mia' meaning 'home'. The suburb was formerly the Greenmount picnic reserve, and part of the eastern portion of the Helena Vale. It was developed by the State Housing Commission in 1955 and 1956.
Suburb named after the State Ship "Kwinana" which traversed between Fremantle and the North West ports between 1912 and 1920. In December 1920, the ship was destroyed by fire at Carnarvon and towed to moorings at Careening Bay, Garden Island. It broke loose during a storm on 30 May 1922 and ran aground and was wrecked on a beach, adjacent to Wells Park. The beach, cottages and area near the wreck soon adopted the name Kwinana. The name is of Aboriginal origin meaning "fair maiden", and originated from the Kimberley region. This area was Gazetted as Kwinana Townsite under the Road Districts Act in 1937, but in November 1955, the Kwinana Progress Association requested that the area re renamed Kwinana Beach to prevent confusion with the Lands Department’s townsite of Kwinana, at that time confined to the Medina area. On 1st June 1956 the boundaries of the Lands Department Townsite were redescribed to include the Local Government Townsite of the same name.
Kwinana Town Centre
The suburb of Kwinana Town Centre is administered by the Town of Kwinana and was approved 22nd January 1973.
The name 'Kwinana' is taken from the wreck of the SS Kwinana which today lies on the shore at Kwinana Beach in Cockburn Sound. The name came from the Aboriginal word for ‘fair maiden’. The ship was damaged by fire near Carnarvon in December 1920 and was brought to Fremantle. In May 1922 while at Careening Bay, Garden Island, she was blown ashore during a storm to the place where it rests today. The area in the vicinity of the wreck soon became known as Kwinana and in 1937, the Kwinana townsite was gazetted to cover the area.
Return to alphabet index
This suburb name is descriptive, being derived from the lake. The locality name was approved on 30th March 2020.
Located approx 6km northeast of Mandurah, this suburb is named because of a number of low lying swamps/lakes in the area. The suburb name was approved on 7th December 1989.
The suburb of Landsdale was approved on 8th January 1980. The name is taken from the main road through the area, Lansdale Road. The origin of the road name is not known, although it appeared on maps of the area as early as 1955.
This name was submitted by the City of Gosnells in September 1966, having been chosen in collaboration with the State Housing Commission. The City stated that Mr Langford was one of the oldest councillors on the road board - probably since 1925 - but had now retired and was a very old man. The name was approved in January 1967
Name derived from Lathlain Park Oval which was, in turn, named after Sir William Lathlain. The proposal for the renaming of parts of the localities of Victoria Park and Rivervale as Lathlain was suggested by the City of Perth and was approved in 1981. Sir William Lathlain was Mayor of Perth 1918-23 and 1930-32, and also a member of the Legislative Council 1926-32.
Leda is one of the Town of Kwinana suburbs named after a ship. The brig 'Leda' brought settlers to the new colony in January 1830. Leda relates to Greek mythology of 'Leda and the swan', an appropriate name for a ship which brought colonists to the settlement on the Swan River. The suburb name was approved in 18th March 1969.
Leederville is named after William Leeder, the first landowner in the area. He arrived in the colony on the 'Rockingham' in 1830, and in 1833 bought land near Lake Monger. Private subdivision began about 1890 and the expanding district was already known as Leederville in April 1895 when it was declared as a Roads Board District. It was gazetted as a municipality on 3 May 1896.
There is some uncertainty as to the origins of this name however it is believed to be named after a Conservator of Forests daughter; the name has been supplied by CALM.The name was approval 3rd January 2006.
The name was suggested by the Melville City Council and was approved in March 1971. It originates from Leeming Road which was the southern boundary of the district. The name commemorates George Waters Leeming, a surveyor, who laid out the roads for the Jandakot Agricultural area in 1889. Leeming was born in 1857 in Melbourne and arrived here on the 'Penola' in 1885 and married Margaret Ann Georgina Sweeting at Guildford in October 1889. He was a mining surveyor in the Kimberley Goldfields in 1888 and later as a contractor and surveyor based at Guildford.
In 1897, the Hon. Archibald Sanderson, a Perth journalist acquired a number of small isolated properties in the district, with the view to building a "rural retreat". He named his property LESMURDIE after Lesmurdie Cottage, a property near Dufftown in Banff Shire, Scotland. Townsite was Gazetted 8 June 1959
Like Kalamunda, the development of the 'Lesmurdie' area is closely tied to the exploitation of the Jarrah forest in the region by the Canning Jarrah Timber Company Ltd.
A locality in the City of Swan, located mostly in the Gnangara Pine Plantation, situated directly north of Gnangara Road. This name was derived from nearby Lexia Borefield (a local name) and Lexia Avenue. The name 'Lexia' is also the name of a grape variety.
The suburb of Lockridge derives its name from a Swan Valley property owned by the Hamersley family, “Lockeridge”. The Hamersleys were a prominent colonial family which owned a number of properties and resided at Pyrton in what is now Eden Hill. Part of the Lockridge land became Pyrton Estate which the government developed for soldier settlement in the 1920s. The residential development in Lockridge was commenced by the State Housing Commission in 1969 when it purchased 240 acres for the purpose.
In November 1964, the City of Canning proposed that this area be named 'Willetton' after Henry Willett of Willett and Co. Early landholders in the area. In August 1965 the City advised that the Realty Development Corporation Ltd had requested the name 'Clovercrest Estate' but that neither party would object to the use of the name Lynwood instead of 'Willetton'. This amendment was approved in 1965 and the name 'Willetton' was used for an adjoining locality.
Return to alphabet index
Much of Maddington was originally selected in 1829 by Captain John Hobbs, Master of the colonial brig 'Thomson'. This land was soon acquired by John Randall Phillips. As early as 1832, Phillips had named his property 'Maddington Farm' presumably after the outer London suburb of that name. A ford across the Canning river near Phillips' farm was commonly known as 'Maddington Ford' in the 1850s and when it was decided to construct a railway station nearby, about the turn of the century, the obvious name was Maddington.
The suburb of Madeley was approved on 19th June 1998, and derives its name from a Wanneroo Road Board member of 1905, AJ Madeley, along with a landowner in the area in 1914, EG Madeley.
First approved as Madora in 1990 and amended to Madora Bay in 2003 this suburb derives its name from 'Madora Beach Estate' of 1960. The estate was a development of Perry's Estate Agency in Mandurah and the name was derived from two Western Australian place names: Chadora, a mill and railway siding near Dwellingup, and Mandora, a cattle station between Broome and Port Hedland.
This suburb takes its name from Mahogany Creek, a picturesque tributary of Jane Brook which flows through the area. The creek was known by this name as early as 1830, and takes its name from the towering forest through which it flowed (mahogany was the early colonial name for Jarrah). This place is well-known from 'The Old Mahogany Inn' located here; an early colonial wayside inn, formerly known as the 'Prince of Wales Inn'. The area was developed as orchard land in the 1890s, and a railway stopping place was established here in 1891.
This area was first settled in 1873 by William Henry Mead. He built a home in the Ridge Hill area, and established an orchard named 'Orangedale'. The name of Maida Vale was chosen as the district name by a public meeting of local residents in 1910, and comes from the property name of another early settler, Mr WH McCormack. It is assumed that the name was derived from that of the west London suburb of this name, which in turn is named after Maida (S Pietro di Maida) in Calabria, Italy. The British Army defeated the French there in 1806 and in commemoration of the victory Maida Hall and Maida Vale were named.
The suburb name Malaga is taken from Malaga Road. This road and three others with unusual names, Truganina, Uganda and Camboon, were surveyed here in 1894. Malaga may be named after the city of Malaga in Spain, or after the Aboriginal word malaga which is the word for ironstone. When the area was promoted by Peet and Co in the 1930s, that company stated the name was of Spanish origin, but there is no evidence to support this is the origin. It was approved as a locality name on 19th March1969.
This locality was approved on 5th November 1997. Malmalling - the name of a forest block. The name originated from the name of the Gorrie's property in the same area, “Malmalling”.
The area of this suburb was originally referred to as '7 Mile Camp', but when a townsite was declared here in 1923 it was named 'Balmanup'. Lake Balmanup was an alternative name for Mandogalup Swamp. In 1945 it was found that the townsite was more commonly known as Mandogalup and it was changed to Mandogalup in September 1946. It is an Aboriginal name, the meaning of which is unknown.
Land was originally reserved for a townsite named "Peel" on the west side of the entrance to Peel Inlet in July 1831 but no development took place and most early settlers took up residence on the east shore, the Aboriginal name of which was Mandurah. Early settlers were Peel, Littleton and Creery and Thomas Peel named his residence "Mandurah House". The name is believed to be derived from the word "mandjar", meaning "trading place".
This suburb began as a State Housing Commission project in 1948. The land had been acquired by Henry Manning of High Holburn, London, in 1856, and Manning's grandson, John Daniel Manning had a dairy here. He was a prominent citizen, and was Chairman of the South Perth Road Board in 1894, 1896-7 and 1899-1901. During subdivision the name Manning Estate was used and Manning eventually became the official name of the area.
Marangaroo is an Aboriginal word meaning "blue flowers". The locality name was approved 13 June 1973 with initial surveying of the area for subdivision commencing March 1977.
Mardella is a variant form of the Aboriginal name of the nearby Medulla Brook. A farming area between Mundijong and Serpentine, the name Mardella has been in use in this area since 1898, when a railway siding of this name was opened here. It was approved as a locality name on 1st May 1997.
This suburb is named after Mariginiup Lake. The lake name was recorded by surveyors in 1844, and in 1904 a townsite was declared here. This Aboriginal name is said to possibly mean "to pull out flag leaved flax". It was named as a locality in 1982.
Named after Patrick Marmion of the schooner 'Pelsart', who operated a whaling station in this area in 1849. In 1970 a plaque was placed in Padbury Circle - Sorrento to commemorate Marmion. He was granted an area of land rent free and hired a jetty at Fremantle. In the 1930's Marmion beach was a popular spot with fishermen, and numerous boatsheds and shacks were built there.
Originally a siding on the railway between Pinjarra and Dwellingup.Named by the WA Government Railway in 1910 after the nearby Marrinup Brook.This choice may also have been influenced by "Marrinup Sawmill" which was also situated nearby in 1910.Marrinup siding was closed in 1961 with the townsite, which only contained 4 lots, being cancelled on 7th January 1966.
The name of this suburb was approved in 1974. It was named at the request of the Gosnells Town Council after the Martin family, pioneers of Gosnells, and in particular Mr Edward Victor Martin, in recognition of 37 years of service on the council.
The suburb of Maylands was developed in the 1890's around the railway line built through the area in the 1880's. The origin of the name is uncertain, but two possibilities have been suggested. One possible origin is that the name relates to the purchase of the land in the month of May by Mr E W Hamer, the other origin is that it was named by Mr Mephan Ferguson after his daughter, May. Ferguson ran an early business in the area.
This suburb name is derived from Meadow Springs Estate and golf course, development of which began in 1988. The suburb is located just north of Mandurah, and the name was approved in 7th December 1989. It was previously known as Mandurah Park.
Medina was the first of the Kwinana suburbs to be named after ships. The "Medina" arrived at the Swan River colony in July 1830 with fifty one passengers on board. The name Medina is believed to be derived from a river on the Isle of Wight, and was approved as a suburb name in 1953.
Meelon is an Aboriginal name for part of the Murray River. Meelon was named after an abandoned railway siding.Sometime between 1910 and 1913 Meelon Siding was identified on maps as a branch line between Pinjarra and Dwellingup.
Named after the "forest block" name used by the Department of Conservation and Land Management in the area. Melaleuca is bounded by the localities of Lexia, Gnangara, Jandabup, Mariginiup, Pinjar, Bullsbrook and Ellenbrook in the City of Swan. Approval for this locality was on 21st August 2002
The suburb of Melville is named after Melville Water on the Swan River. Melville Water was named after Robert Dundas, the second Viscount Melville, by Captain James Stirling during explorations in March 1827, two years prior to settlement at the Swan River. The area was first proposed for development in 1896 as Melville Park Estate, but it really only forged ahead after the second world war.
The suburb of Menora grew out of a large area generally referred to as Mount Lawley.In 1954, the Nomenclature Advisory Committee, working with the Postmaster General established suburb names and boundaries for the inner metropolitan area.The area of Menora was considered unnamed, and Menora was chosen as the name because of the Menora Picture Theatre located in Walcott Street within the area.Another influencing factor in the choice of name was that Menora is the name of the Jewish seven branched candlestick, one of the oldest symbols of the Jewish faith, and this area has a strong Jewish influence.
The name originally proposed for this suburb by the City of Wanneroo was 'Hester' after one of the first land owners in the vicinity. This was approved in 1980, but the name was opposed by Australia Post because of duplication. The City of Wanneroo then proposed the name Merriwa, an Aboriginal word for “a good place”. The name was approved on 31 March 1980.
Middle Swan is one of Perth's oldest suburbs, and the name was in use as early as the 1840's. It was named because the area is in the middle of the Swan valley region.Though one of the oldest names in use the locality name was only approved on 21st May 1972.
Midland is named after the Midland Railway Company, which in 1886 was contracted by the state government to build a railway line to Geraldton in return for grants of land. The company established its headquarters at the present site of Midland, and the town grew around the Midland Railway and the government's Eastern Railway. A railway station of Midland Junction was opened here in 1894, but when the municipality was named in 1895 it was named Helena Vale. The railway station kept its name and so much confusion arose that the town was renamed Midland Junction in 1901 and finally shortened to Midland on 23rd June 1961.
The name Midvale is a composite name made up from Midland and Helena Vale and was proposed in 1949. It is appropriate as the suburb lies midway between Midland and the site of the former Helena Vale Racecourse. The area was developed in the early 1950's with the name being approved 23rd March 1949.
The name "Millendon" for a locality in the Upper Swan area commemorates the historic property of Western Australia's first Advocate-General, George Fletcher Moore. Moore, an Irishman, arrived in the Colony in 1830 and in 1833 obtained land in the Swan Valley which he named "Millendon". Moore's land began to be subdivided in 1914, and was developed into large lots suitable for agriculture. The land is in the prime wine growing area of the State and the area today is still renowned for its wines.
This suburb is named after Mindarie Lake, an Aboriginal name first recorded by Alexander Forrest in 1874. The Aboriginal meaning for the name is possibly "the place near which is held a ceremony" or "green water". The suburb was to have been named Clarkson prior to development, but the two names were transposed and approved 6th May 1985.
Mirrabooka is an Aboriginal word for the Southern Cross constellation. The name was proposed by the state government in 1954 for a large tract of land to be developed for public housing. It was named the "Mirrabooka Project", but the area now known as Mirrabooka was only named as a suburb in 1980.
The name Morley began appearing on maps around the turn of the twentieth century and was adopted when the area was subdivided for urban development after the Second World War. The most likely explanation for its use is that it commemorates Charles William Morley, who is known to have farmed in the Morley area during the 1860's and 1870's.The name Morley Park was approved as a postal boundary on 9th July 1954 however this was later changed to Morley on 11th January 1961.
The area of this suburb was first named "Buckland Downs" on a map of the Colony drawn in London in September 1832. This name is thought to have been bestowed by Governor Stirling to honour William Buckland, a noted geologist and later Dean of Westminster. The highest point in the district was named Buckland Hill, and this name was adopted for the locality. However, when a railway station was opened in 1895, it was named Cottesloe Beach and this name was also used for the locality. The Buckland Hill Road District was gazetted in 1899, was changed to Cottesloe Beach in 1909, Buckland Hill again in 1930, and then Mosman Park Road District in 1938. The suburb was officially named Mosman Park at a meeting of the Executive Council in 1937, the name being derived from the adjacent Mosman Bay on the river. The bay was named in 1907 when the Public Works Department constructed a jetty on the river here. It was named after Mosman in Sydney, the birthplace of R J Yeldon, a Road Board member 1901-05 and 1908-09.
Mount Claremont was formerly included within the suburbs of Graylands and Swanbourne and derives its name from the adjoining suburb of Claremont. A portion of this area had long been referred to as 'Mount Claremont' by local residents and, as early as 1957, a non-official post office of that name had been established there. In 1985 both the City of Perth and the City of Nedlands requested the creation of a new suburb to be named Mount Claremont and this was approved in January 1986.
The Mount Hawthorn area was first subdivided for urban development in 1887. In the late 1890's part of it was purchased by a syndicate of E H Wittenoom, J A Hicks and C L W Clifton and the story is told that when this group subdivided their land in 1903, James Hicks called his portion of the subdivision Hawthorn Estate, as he had recently been in Melbourne and stayed at Hawthorne. Residents later were apparently dissatisfied with the name and as parts of it were on an eminence and to use the name Mount so and so was fashionable at that time, (eg Mount Lawley), they called it Mount Hawthorn.
Mount Helena was known as Lion Mill until it was renamed Mount Helena in March 1924. The prime mover in the quest for a new name was the local Progress Association whose first choice, "Hillcrest" had been rejected by the authorities because of a duplication in New South Wales. The next suggestion, "Mount Helena" was more successful and had been chosen as a euphonious name, indicative of the terrain and because the suburb was situated centrally in the Helena District.
At the beginning of the twentieth century the whole of the Mount Lawley area was undeveloped bushland. At this time the Mount Lawley estate was purchased by Messrs Samuel W Copley and R T Robinson, who set out with the object of making this an attractive suburb, with the right type of home, and with every possible encouragement given to householders to create a garden suburb. Mount Lawley received its name in recognition of Sir Arthur Lawley, who was Governor of Western Australia for 15 months in 1901-02. Governor Lawley was born in 1860, and had a distinguished career in the British Army, and the Colonial Service.
This hilly suburb in the City of Armadale derives its name from "Derrynasura", a vineyard established in the area in 1897. It comprised 280 acres with cellars especially excavated into the hillside. The suburb name was officially approved 13th August 1996, and it was formerly part of Armadale and Kelmscott suburbs.
In 1911 James Herbert Simpson built a house on 40 acres by the river which, because of its shape, became known as the Castle on the Hill. Simpson named it Mt. Pleasant, the name which now adorns the suburb. Mt Pleasant, like its neighbouring suburbs, experienced boom times after the completion of the Kwinana Freeway from Perth to the Canning Bridge which made the suburb, being so close to the city centre, and having attractive river views, extremely desirable real estate."
Formerly part of Armadale and Wungong, Mount Richon was approved as a suburb on 12th March 2003. It is named after a former vineyard in the area
Mullaloo is an Aboriginal word, and was first recorded for a point on the coast near here in 1919. It was first shown as Moolalloo Point, but the spelling was later changed to Mullaloo, and the feature is now known as Pinnaroo Point. The beach here was locally known as Mullaloo Beach around the turn of the century, but urban subdivision only commenced in the late 1950's. One record of the Aboriginal name records it as meaning "place of the rat kangaroo".
Permanent settlement in Mundaring began in 1882-84 when Mr Peter Gugeri established a vineyard south of the Eastern Railway. Gugeri was born in London in 1845 and gained experience in the wine industry in Italy. The first railway siding at Mundaring was named after him and for some years the area was generally known as "Gugeris". A later settler, M H Jacoby, took over Gugeris' vineyards in 1893, and named the business the "Mundaring Vineyard Company". The name came from an Aboriginal camp situated nearby and the meaning given to Jacoby by the aborigines was "a high place on a high place". The correct pronunciation was "Mundahring" but common usage has gradually converted this to "Mundairing".
This place was originally named Jarrahdale Junction. It was at the junction of the Rockingham-Jarrahdale line and the government line from Perth to Bunbury which was built in 1893. A town grew up around the junction, and a timber depot which included a large planing mill was constructed. The town was first declared as "Manjedal" in 1893 as it was thought to be the Aboriginal name of the area. In 1897 this was found to be incorrect, and the name was changed to Mundijong. Mundijong has been in existence for some time but was approved as a locality on 1st May 1997.
In January 1830 land at Woodman Point was set aside for a townsite to accommodate new settlers. the town was named Clarence and a large lake near its centre, "Lake Munster" (now Lake Coogee), both after Prince William, Duke of Clarence in the peerage of Great Britain and Earl of Munster in the peerage of Ireland. In 1895 a postal directory mentioned that the suburb of "Lake Munster" was "also known as Coogee". In later years this name was applied more to the area north-west of the lake, while the rest of the area became known for postal purposes as "Woodman Point" and "South Coogee in the 1950'S. Munster was officially adopted as a suburb name in 1954.
This suburb is named after Sir Walter Logie Forbes Murdoch. Murdoch was born in 1874, and in 1912 was appointed Professor of English at the new University of Western Australia. He was Chancellor of the University from 1943 to 1947, and died in 1970 shortly before Perth's second university was named in his honour. The suburb was named in 1974.
Prior to 1954, the suburb now named Myaree was generally known as part of Melville and consisted of poultry farms and several industries. The Melville Road Board acquired land and planning for an urban residential area in conjunction with an industrial area was begun. The name, Myaree, which is an Aboriginal word meaning 'foliage', was suggested and street names were chosen commemorating men of the district who died on active service in the first world war and old residents who had played an active part in the development of the area. Development of the area commenced in 1955.
Myara locality was approved on 18th August 1997. The locality was name after Myara Brook which is in the same area.Myara Brook was first recorded by A C Gregory in 1843.
Return to alphabet index
This suburb takes its name from the Naval Base for which land was resumed here in 1915. The base never eventuated, but the name given to the land allocated for that purpose remained.
This locality takes its name from the Nambeelup Brook which flows into the Serpentine River.The brook was first recorded by Captain Mark Curris during his 1829 explorations into whether there were rivers flowing south of Swan River.Early on Nambellup Brook appears as “Currie River” on maps however in 1841 Thomas Watson recorded the Aboriginal name of Nambeelow Brook, it was also recorded as Nambuela Brook but has been shown as Nambeelup Brook since 1903.
In 1854, Colonel John Bruce, Military Commandant of the Colony, brought land in this area, intending the land to be the heritage of his son Edward. He is said to have referred to the estate as "Ned's Land". Edward Bruce, later Major Edward Bruce of the 19th Bengall Lancers, visited Western Australia in 1883 and on a mortgage dated 29th June in that year, the various locations left to him by his father are described as being the land "known as Nedlands". Development of the area mainly occurred between 1910 and 1920. The area was declared a Municipality on 17th February 1956 and a City on 5th June 1959.
Named after Lake Neerabup which was first recorded by surveyor J. Cowle in 1867. Aboriginal derivation of the name is possibly "swampy place" or "small basin or lake". Another version of the spelling is Neerabub. Another authority states that this lake was once called Pappas Swamp. The suburb name was approved in 1982.
This name is derived from the Nirimba Cay, a sand bank, and is an Aboriginal name referring to pelicans.The name for the Cay was proposed after the Fisheries Department discovered a breeding colony of pelicans on the sand bank.
Nollamara is one of the "Mirrabooka Project" suburbs developed by the State Housing Commission in the early 1950's. The suburb name was approved in 1954, and is the Aboriginal word for the red and green kangaroo paw, Western Australia's floral emblem.
This suburb name was approved in 1977. The name was proposed by the City of Bayswater, and is taken from Noranda Park, a town in Florida, USA.
North Beach is a descriptive name, derived from the suburb being (at the time) the most northerly of Perth's beaches. The name has been in use for the area since at least the 1880's, when the Hamersley family built a summer home there. Streets in the area honour members of the family.
Northbridge is an inner suburban area, named because it is just north of Perth across the railway bridge. It was approved as a suburb name in on 30th March 1981 and Gazetted in 1982.
North Coogee was approved as a suburb on 19th December 2005 from the existing localities of Spearwood, Hamilton Hill and Coogee.
This locality was approved on 18th August 1997 and has been named for the townsite that it encompasses and after the North Dandalup River which flows through the townsite.North Dandalup River was first recorded in 1837.
North Dandalup is mentioned as a stopping place on the South-Western Railway in 1894 and was gazetted as a polling place on 5th April 1907.
North Fremantle is a descriptive name, derived from its location north of Fremantle. The government advertised land for sale at North Fremantle in 1856, but the area mainly developed following the opening of the railway from Perth to Fremantle in 1881.
North Lake is a named after the lake of this name within the locality. The lake has been known by this name since 1877, and the name was approved for the suburb in 1954.
North Perth is a descriptive name, derived from its location north of Perth. The area was mainly developed in the boom times following the 1890's gold rush, and it was declred a Municipality in 1901.
North Yunderup locality was derived from the Yunderup townsite which was originally pronounced Yoondooroop when it was subdivided in 1897. The name is derived from the Aboriginal name of one of the islands.
The suburb of Nowergup takes its name from Lake Nowergup. The lake name was first recorded by Surveyor General J S Roe in 1841, and is an Aboriginal word which possibly means "place of sweet water". It was approved as a suburb name in 1982.
Return to alphabet index
The suburb of Oakford was named on 26th August 1982, and takes its name from the townsite of this name declared in 1926. The townsite was cancelled in 1927.
Oakley Brook gives this locality its name and was approved on 18 August 1997. The brook was probably named after W.E. Oakley, an old servant of Thomas Peel who received land from Peel in return for his services.The land was near Pinjarra and Oakley was one of the first settlers along the Murray River. It is thought that the brook was possibly named at this time.
Ocean Reef is a descriptive name used by developers. It is derived from a line of reefs offshore from Mullaloo, and was approved in 1974.
The suburb of O'Connor was named in 1955 in honour of Charles Yelverton O'Connor. O'Connor was Engineer in Chief and General Manager of the Railways of Western Australia in the 1890's, and is remembered for his genius that resulted in construction of the Goldfields Water Supply, Fremantle Harbour and Perth's suburban rail system. He died in 1903.
Oldbury is a farming area west of Mundijong and Cardup. It takes its name from Group 35 of the Peel Estate Group Settlement Scheme, formed here in 1922. It was approved as a locality name on 1st May 1997.
Orange Grove is a descriptive name, derived from the orange orchards which were once common in the area.
Orelia is a suburb of Kwinana named after a ship. The "Orelia" arrived at Fremantle bringing settlers to the new colony in October 1829. This area began to be developed in 1952.
Osborne Park was named after William Osborne, a butcher who owned an abattoir and land along the Wanneroo Road, and who was elected to the Perth Road Board in 1875. Osborne's land was subdivided in 1905 for market gardens and dairies, but the area today is largely industrial.
Return to alphabet index
This suburb is named after Walter Padbury (1820-1907), pastoralist, merchant and philanthropist. Padbury, a prominent Perth citizen, was the first landholder in the area. The suburb was named in 1971.
Palmyra, meaning City of Palms, was a famous Syrian city which was a trading centre on the trading routes of Ancient Europe. Its ancient name was Tadmor, but it was called Palmyra by the Romans who ranked it fourth in the seven wonders of the ancient world. The name Palmyra was chosen from a competition run by the Melville Road Board and the street names chosen, eg Zenobia, Cleopatra, Solomon, Aurelian, Antony etc, are names associated with Ancient History in the Middle East area.
The railway line that once ran between Bellevue and Mount Helena, via Parkerville, was opened for traffic in 1896. Parkerville was one of the first stations to be constructed on the line and served the Parkerville Suburban Area which had been thrown open for selection in June 1895. The Suburban Area was named in honour of Mr S H Parker whose country home, now the Old Mahogany Inn, was situated nearby. Parker was a prominent of the Perth legal fraternity.
This suburb is so named because of the 'Parkland' development of the area (farmlet development etc). The name was approved on 8th March 1990.
Previously part of Lynwood, Parkwood was approved as a suburb name in 1993. It is an estate name created by the developers in the early 1970's.
Parmelia is one of the Kwinana suburbs named after a ship. The "Parmelia" was the first ship to arrive bringing settlers to the new colony. It arrived in June 1829, including in its passengers the new Governor and his wife, James and Ellen Stirling.
This suburb was named in 12th January1973, and honours one of the first orchardists in the district, Mr Albert Paull. It is located in the Darling Range east of Kalamunda.
Pearsall was approved on 1st December 1994. The name honours W.C.Pearsall who was a member of the Wanneroo Road Board from 1931 - 1950 and owned the first service station in the area in 1929. Pearsall was formerly part of Wanneroo.
The extensive area of farmlets now known as Peel Estate derives its name from a grandiose settlement scheme developed in England in 1828. Thomas Peel was the leader of the scheme to develop 250,000 acres with 10,000 emigrants, but for a number of reasons the scheme failed. The area was also subject to an extensive government scheme to develop land for group settlement in the 1920's. Thomas Peel, after whom the suburb is named, settled at Mandurah and died there in 1856.
The area now known as Peppermint Grove was originally owned by John Butler, and Keanes Point was once known as Butlers Hump. For many years the Peppermint Grove property, which received that name from the groves of peppermint trees natural to the area, was the scene of picnics when crowds of upto 400 travelled by steamers from Perth. In December 1890 the land was closed to picnickers by a Perth syndicate who subdivided the estate, and used the name Peppermint Grove to promote the land.
The name Peron applies to the area of former holiday camps and reserves around Cape Peron at the southern end of Cockburn Sound. Cape Peron was named after Francois Peron, a French naturaliste who was part of a French expedition that explored the Western Australian coast in 1801-03.
The story of the naming of Perth begins with the instructions given to Captain Stirling, Lieutenant Governor designate of the proposed colony of Western Australia, regarding the foundation of the colony. Stirling received a letter from the Secretary for the Colonies, Sir George Murray, which read:
"Amongst your earliest duties will be that of determining the most convenient site for a Town to be erected as the future seat of Government. You will be called upon to weigh maturely the advantages which may arise from placing it on so secure a situation as may be afforded on various points of the Swan River, against those which may follow from establishing it on so fine a port for the reception of shipping as Cockburn Sound is represented to be...".
Stirling was therefore given the choice of establishing the chief town on Cockburn Sound, or "on various points on the Swan River". It has been established that Murray actually gave Stirling more explicit instructions, and advised him that failing the establishment of the town at Cockburn Sound, he was to fix the site for it at the confluence of the two rivers, the Swan and the Canning, or in other words, at Point Heathcote. Stirling had good reasons to disobey Murray, but briefly they were that it was that the Perth site was "decidely preferable in building materials, streams of water, and facility of communication".
Stirling did however gladly comply with Sir George Murray's command that the new town be called Perth. Murray's reasons for choosing the name, Perth, were purely sentimental and quite understandable, for he was both a Perthshire man and represented his birthplace in the House of Commons. The choice suited Stirling, himself a Scotsman, although it is recorded that at least one early settler, William Leake complained to the Home Office about the name. August 12, 1829, marked the day of the founding of the town, when Mrs Helen Dance cut down a tree. August 12 was also the King's (George 4th) birthday.
Name as the locality that encompasses the Perth Airport precinct. Approved on the 25th June 1984.
Piara Waters was name for “Piara”, which is the aboriginal name for the Banksia attenuate, commonly known as the candlestick banksia and is also the name of a prominent lake/reserve in the area along Nicholson Road.Approval to rename a portion of Forrestdale to Piara Waters was receive on the 9th July 2007.
Named after nearby Pickering Brook. The brook is named after an early settler, Captain Edward Picking whose name was sometimes recorded as Pickering. The suburb of Pickering Brook was officially created on the 12th January 1973. Part of it was formerly known as Carilla.
The suburb of Piesse Brook is named after Piesse Gully which flows through the area. The name of this watercourse was first recorded in 1890, and is most likely named after the family of William Roper Piesse, a prominent citizen with a large family who lived in Guildford for a time. Boundaries for this suburb were approved in 1972.
The suburb of Pinjar is named after the large swampy lake of this name located north east of Wanneroo. The lake name is shown on government plans from 1868, and the name is of Aboriginal origin. The meaning of Pinjar is unknown, but could be "tadpole" or "swampy lake".
Pinjarra locality is named for the Pinjarra townsite which is within the locality.It was approved 18th August 1997.The first allocation of land to settlers in this area was in 1837.On earlier maps the name was spelt “Pinjarrup” with the colloquial spelling being “Pinjarrah”. There are conflicting theories regarding the meaning of this Aboriginal name. It is usually said to mean "place of a swamp", but it is more likely named after the "Pindjarup" tribe, the Aboriginal group that frequented this area.
Point Grey gives this locality its name.Approval for the locality was on 18th August 1997. It is presumed that Point Grey was named after Henry George Grey, the third Earl Grey (Formerly Viscount Howeick) who was Secretary of State for the Colonies from 1846-1852.
Port Kennedy takes its name from the feature of this name located in the south east corner of Warnbro Sound. The port was named by J S Roe, Surveyor General, in 1859, during the survey of Warnbro Sound. He named it after Sir Arthur Edward Kennedy, Governor of Western Australia 1855-1862. The suburb was previously named Becher, after Point Becher, and was renamed in 1990.
Named after George Postans who was one of the first settlers in the area. He arrived in the Colony as a convict in 1850 and bought 100 acres of land in 1882, several years after getting his ticket-of-leave. The suburb was formerly known as Caledonia.
Return to alphabet index
Queens Park was formerly known as Woodlupine. In 1911 a girl was raped and murdered here, and local residents and authorities, not wishing to jeopardise development of the area, had the name changed to Queens Park. The name is said to honour Queen Alexandra, wife of King Edward VII.
This seaside suburb takes its name from the offshore reef first noted during a coastline survey by Surveyour James Cowle in 1867. Although spelt with a double "n", the rocks are thought to have been named after Robert Quin who emigrated to Western Australia in 1863 and was appointed as an Assistant Surveyor on his arrival. Quin died in July 1886. The general area on the coast opposite the rocks was referred to as Quinns Rocks by the Wanneroo Road Board when they requested the survey of a road to the area in November 1925. Later the place also came to be called "Wanneroo Beach". Quinns Rocks was declared a townsite on 27th July 1962 with the locality encompassing it originally being called “Quinn” but changed to Quinns Rocks in 1977.
Return to alphabet index
This suburb name originates from the early days of the Colony when Captain Mark John Currie (first Colonial Harbour Master of Fremantle) set to work developing his grant of 2,560 acres on the Swan River in the vicinity of current day Redcliffe. In early 1831, Currie constructed a brick homestead on the property near where Water Street is now situated and called it "Red Cliff". In official records dated 1846, the name of the property is spelt "Redcliffe" and it appears this spelling was the usually adopted one from the early 1840's onwards. The area was subdivided in 1897.
Ravenswood locality derived its name from the Ravenswood townsite and was approved on 18th August 1997.
Ravenswood was originally the name of a property taken up in this area by Adam Armstrong in the 1840's. Armstrong's property was known as "Ravenswood Farm". Ravenswood was known as a locality as early as 1895, and following private subdivision in the area in the 1960's the Shire of Murray requested the declaration of a townsite.
Red Hill is a descriptive name derived from the colour of the earth in the area.
Ridgewood is a descriptive name, relating to a wooded ridge on the Swan coastal plain. Approved on 19th June 1998.
This suburb derives its name from its location on the banks of the canning River. The area was subdivided in 1914, and Riverton was referred to locally as Riverton Bridge in 1937 to avoid confusion with the South Australian suburb of Riverton. This name was never formally approved and officially the suburb has always been Riverton.
Rivervale was known as "Barndon Hill" prior to 1884. Barndon Hill was named after Richard Barndon who opened an inn called the "Brewers Arms" on the south road to Guildford in October 1843. Barndon was associated with Henry Camfield who held land in this vicinity. Rivervale was first used in 1923 as the name of a railway station on the Perth Armadale line, and was later adopted as the name of the suburb. It is a descriptive name derived from its location on the Swan River.
Rockingham is named after the ship "Rockingham" which ran aground on the beach which fronts the suburb in 1830. The ship was the last of three ships to bring Thomas Peel's settlers to the new colony, and although initially salvaged, was eventually sunk in Cockburn Sound. The site of Rockingham was identified by J S Roe, Surveyor General, in 1846, and a townsite was surveyed here by Alfred Hillman in 1847.
This suburb derives its name from a property, with the name being recorded as early as 1858 when it was purchased by Thomas Buckinhgham. It was also referred to as "The Rolling Stone" and "Rowley Stone" in early police reports. There was also a sawmill by the same name.The area was subdivided into farmlets in 1902, and was subsequently developed as orchards and market gardens.
The name Rossmoyne derives its origin from the desire of a developer for a good promotional name. In 1937, the developer, V W Webb and his family made a trip to Scotland and on their return, sought a promotional name for some of their Rossmoyne land. Mrs Webb coined the name Rossmoyne, a euphonic name with no particular background, although connected with the trip to Scotland. The name was used for an estate put up for sale in 1955 and soon became the commonly used suburb name for this area. By 1959, development had progressed sufficiently for the Canning Road Board to seek official recognition for the name Rossmoyne. The name was approved in February 1960 and gazetted the following month.
Return to alphabet index
Safety Bay derives its name from a small bay of that name. The original "bay" was a small cove on the north shore of Warnbro Sound now encompassed by Safety Bay Road, Berry Street and Janet Road. It was noted by Surveyor General John Septimus Roe in 1837 as "a safe well protected boat anchorage" and he gave it the appropriate name of Safety Bay. A headland near the present junction of Safety Bay Road and June Road was named "Point Shelter". Later the cove was renamed "Peel Harbour" and when it ultimately became land locked, "Peel Basin", but the name Safety Bay stuck and gradually came to be applied to all the northern portion of Warnbro Sound. "Peel Basin" was reclaimed in later years and houses now stand where Roe once recorded soundings of up to 7 fathoms.
The suburb name of Saint James is named after the London park of that name, which in turn commemorates Saint James the apostle. The name was proposed by the Canning Road Board, and was approved in 1957. Many of the streets in the area are named after British Prime Ministers and Members of Parliament.
This suburb takes its name from the feature with the same name on the Canning River. The point was named after Hannah Salter, daughter of Mr Charles Salter, who was born at Canning Bridge in 1851. She later married Thomas Buckingham and lived at Kelmscott. The suburb name had been in use for many years before being approved in 1990.
Samson is named in honour of one of Fremantle's most noted families. Lionel Samson arrived at Fremantle in 1829, and the business he established there, Lionel Samson and Sons Pty. Ltd., is the state's oldest established family business. Two of his descendants have been Mayor of Fremantle, with Sir William Frederick Samson serving for over twenty years in the 1950's and 60's.
The name of this suburb is derived from "San Remo" estate, a developers name. It was approved as a suburb name in 7th December 1989.
Sawyers Valley derived its name from the trade most commonly practised by those who settled there. A sawpit, with hand sawyers hard at work and a settlement of thatched "V" huts (so called from their resemblance to an inverted letter "V") was noted in the area as early as the 1860's. The timber trade was the mainstay of the place for many years. A railway station named Sawyers Valley was opened here in 1884.
In 1885, a visiting Sydney journalist explored the coastline as Scarborough and gave much publicity to the high qualities of the ocean beach. Encouraged by the publicity, some Perth land and estate agents investigated the possibilities of the area. Eventually the land was sold to a Patrick Callaghan of Melbourne in October 1892. Callaghan soon after, subdivided the land and sold a few of the blocks in Melbourne and although it is not known if he advertised the land as "Scarborough" it is possible to attribute the origin of the name to him. He named one of the streets in his subdivision Scarborough Road, later to become Drabble Road and it is believed the name of the suburb originated from this road. It is probably derived from the English seaside town of the same name.
Secret Harbour was a locally used name approved on 12th June 1984. The name was used for a proposed marina development which was to include a small boat harbour. The suburb does not now include a harbour.
The rural suburb of Serpentine derives its name from the Serpentine River on which it is located. The river was was discovered in 1832, and named because it is such a winding river in its lower reaches. Whilst in use for many years the locality was not approved until 1st May 1997.
This suburb was formerly part of Armadale, and was approved on 19th December 2002. The area was formerly known for its citrus orchards, and Seville, a variety of orange was grown in the area.
Formerly part of Riverton, Shelley was approved as a separate suburb in the mid 1960's. It is believed the name refers to shells found on the shores of the Canning River here.
This suburb name honours one of Western Australia's most notable nineteenth century citizens, Sir George Shenton. Shenton was from a prominent colonial family,and was an astute businessman and politician. He served three terms as Mayor of Perth, and his home "Crawley Park" is now part of the University of Western Australia. He died in 1909.
Shoalwater is named after the adjacent bay of this name. The bay was named by J.S. Roe in 1829, and the name is descriptive, referring to the shallow water in the bay. The Bay extends from Cape Peron to Mersey Point.
Suburb of the Town of Mandurah proposed by the town council and approved on 7th December1989. Named after "Silver Sands Estate", a promotional name for the area and adopted because of persistent local usage.
This new suburb, formerly part of Wanneroo, is named after the Sinagra family, migrants from Italy who arrived in the Wanneroo area in the 1920's. Sam Sinagra owned a shop in Wanneroo, and the family were prominent citizens. The suburb name was approved on 1st December 1994.
Singleton locality encompasses Singleton Townsite. Singleton townsite was declared 1956. Singleton is named after Captain Francis Corbet Singleton who came to this district in 1839. Singleton was appointed to the first Board of Road Directors in 1840, and had extensive land holdings in the Murray District.
The locality of Solus encompasses Mount Solus where this locatities name is derived from.It was approved as a locality on 18th August 1997.Mount Solus was first sighted by A. Hillman on 8th January 1835.
A private subdivision of freehold land known as 'Sorrento' was surveyed here in 1929. It is assumed that the name was taken from the Italian seaside town of Sorrento which is located south of Naples opposite the Isle of Capri.
The suburb of Southern River was proposed by the City of Gosnells in 1968. The Southern River after which the suburb is named runs through the suburb, and is a descriptive name. The name was approved in 1969.
South Fremantle derives its name from its location as the southern suburb of the City of Fremantle. The name has been in use for the area since at least the 1880's.
South Guildford derives its name from its location south of Guildford.
Name proposed by Taylor Woodrow Homes Builders Pty. Ltd and the City of Cockburn in March 1982 after a previous suggestion ("Oxley") had been rejected because of duplication. Situated to the south of North Lake, hence the name. Approved in 26th August 1982.
South Perth derives its name from its location south of Perth. The area was identified as a separate suburb of Perth as early as 1831, and was the site of Perth's first mill in 1833.
This locality name, which was approved on 18th August 1997, is descriptive as this locality is south of Yunderup Townsite. Yunderup was originally pronounced Yoondooroop when it was subdivided in 1897.The name is derived from the Aboriginal name of one of the islands.
This suburb derives its name from the Spearwood bush which is as a common shrub in the area. When the area was subdivided by real estate entrepeneur James Morrison in 1897 he used the name Spearwood Gardens Estate, the first time the name was used. The Spearwood area soon became one of Perth's major market gardening areas.
Locality name Derived from Stake Hill Bridge which was first recorded in 1903 and crosses the Serpentine River.
The name as approved on 18th August 1997.
Stirling is named after Admiral Sir James Stirling, the first Governor of Western Australia. Approved as a postal district name in April 1976 at the request of the Stirling City Council, the suburb was formerly part of Balcatta.
Originally referred too as Dowie Siding (though not it’s official name), Stoneville was locally known as early as 1905 and was officially change to Stoneville in 1920.It is named after Sir Albert Edward Stone, Chief Justice of Western Australia in 1905. The name was chosen by the local residents who were developing the district for fruit growing
Named for John Peter Stratton (1888-1966), farmer and businessman who owned some of the land in this suburb and was president of the Western Australian Trotting Association 1930-1966. Proposed as a locality name to replace Wexcombe by the City of Swan, and approved on 2nd March 1989.
It was in 1851 that WA's Benedictine community moved from Guildford to an area near Lake Monger they named New Subiaco after an Italian town about 33 miles from Rome in the Sabine Mountains. The 'New' was dropped when the Perth - Fremantle railway was opened and a station provided for the convenience of the monastery. The land in the suburb was first developed by the government in 1885.
The suburb of Success is named after the ship commanded by Captain James Stirling when he visited and explored the Swan River in 1827. The name was approved for the suburb in 23rd March 1973, although the boundaries have since been changed. In 1968 the PMG discussed the naming of the area with the Cockburn City Council who suggested "Omeo", apparently after a ship that went ashore at Coogee around the turn of the century. Investigation showed that this name was duplicated in Victoria and eventually, the name Success was proposed.
The name Swanbourne commemorates the home of Thomas Francis Fremantle, 1st Baron Cottesloe.. He was the brother of Captain Charles Howe Fremantle RN. after whom Fremantle is named. Swanbourne was at first referred to as Cottesloe Beach, and the first homes in the area were built around 1890.
Suggested as a name by Surveyor F.S. Brockman in 1894, when the Government subdivided land in the area. The name is descriptive, referring to the views of the Swan Valley to be had from the higher land in the area. The name was given to a railway siding on the Eastern Railway in the 1890's. Following the construction of the railway, the area was subdivided into agricultural lots. Once a spur line, the railway through Swan View became the main line to the Eastern wheatbelt. The line, now removed, once passed through Western Australia's only railway tunnel which is located within the boundaries of the John Forrest National Park near Swan View.
Return to alphabet index
A new suburb proposed by the City of Wanneroo on 4th August 1988 to replace portions of Mindarie, Clarkson & Burns. Tamala is the type of limestone from which the dominant sand type in the vicinity is derived. This suburb is to be used for refuse disposal and public open space.
The suburb of Tapping is named after an early settler family in the Wanneroo area. Mr William Tapping arrived in 1886 and Mary Anne (Molly) and Dolly Tapping were long time Postmistresses in Wanneroo. The name was approved on 4th December1997.
Teesdale has been derived from both the Teesdale Foresty Block and Teesdale Hill, and was approved on 18th August 1997. A forestry lookout tower on a hill was shown named "Teesdale" in 1942. The tower was probably named after Henry Teesdale Smith, a well-known personality of the timber industry and General Manager of Millars Karri and Jarrah Co. Ltd., who held a lease over the surrounding area in 1902.
Name of small settlement approx 50 kms east of Perth, at the turn off to York from Great Eastern Highway, and at the north west corner of Manaring Lakes. Derives its name from its location.
The unusual suburb name of The Spectacles is derived from the names of two swamps in the area, Large Eye Swamp and Small Eye Swamp. These swamps had been collectively recorded as "The Spectacles" since 1841 when the first survey of the area was undertaken by Surveyor Thomas Watson. It was approved as a suburb name in 1978
Formerly a portion of the Ellenbrook locality. "The Vines" began as an estate name which describes the former land use of the area, ie viticulture.The locality name was approved on 7th March 1996.
In December 1955, the then "Gosnells Road Board" wrote to the Nomenclature Advisory Committee informing them that a portion of Canning Location 17 had been approved for subdivision. They requested that the area be named Thornlie which appeared to be a name by which the whole estate was known in the early days. The name was approved in April 1956. One authority states the district was named after Thornlie Bank in Madras. When Padbury owned the property, it was run as an experimental farm by his niece's husband, Frank James, whose grandfather was in business at Thornlie Bank in Madras.
The name Treeby recognises a pioneering family (1890’s) who developed and farmed the land where the suburb is located. The exploits of Joseph Treeby and his family are documented in the publication 'Cockburn the Making of a Community' by Michael Berson (1978) . Three of the Treeby sons were active servicemen during World War I, with one killed in action and another wounded, details are depicted on the plaque erected at the Banjup Memorial Reserve which is located within the Treeby locality. Formerly part of Banjup locality Treeby name was approved on 16th September 2016.
The suburb of Trigg is named after the feature Trigg Island, located on the coast approximately opposite Elliot Road. The feature has never been a true island, being now composed of rock and sand and only surrounded by water at very high tides, but in years past, it was often surrounded by water during the winter months. The reasons why it came to be known as Trigg Island are unknown, but it has been recorded in Lands Department records since 1866 and is believed to be named after Henry Trigg who was the Superintendent of Public Works in the Colony from 1838 to 1851.
Tuart Hill is a descriptive name, and derives from the groves of Tuart trees on the rise above Dog Swamp adjacent to Wanneroo Road. In 1914 the Grenville Progress Association sought to have this place named "Grenville", but the name was rejected because it was too similar to Granville in New South Wales. The Progress Association then nominated "Tuart Hill" as an alternative. The name was not approved at this time, but became adopted through common usage.
This beachside suburb is named after two prominent rocks offshore from Wreck point. Two Rocks achieved prominence when a yachting marina was constructed here, and streets in the suburb are named after yachts from America's Cup challenges. The name was approve in 1982.
Return to alphabet index
Descriptive name for the area as it is the upper reaches of the Swan valley.The locality name was approved on 21st May 1972.
Return to alphabet index
The suburb of Victoria Park derives its name from "Victoria Park Estate", a development that took place here in the 1890's. It is believed the name was given to the estate because Queen Victoria was still on the throne, although it may be connected with the Melbourne suburb of Victoria Park Victoria Park was declared a municipality in 1897..
Named after Dr Samuel Waterman Viveash, the owner of the land in this area in the 1840's. Viveash arrived in the Swan River Colony in December 1838 and took up land in the Avon District. The suburban area of Viveash was developed by the Midland Brick Company which carried out subdivision in 1967 and requested that the area be given the name Viveash in May 1968.
Return to alphabet index
Waikiki is a developers name which was officially Gazetted on 5th April 1974. It was named after the popular Hawaiian holiday resort which is famous for its surfing beaches.
The name of Walliston honours the area's first settlers, John and Emma Wallis. The Wallis's moved to this district in the 1880's, establishing their home in 1883 on the site of present day Walliston. Both were prominent citizens of the district. The area was also known as Wallis' Crossing, Wallis' Landing and 12 Mile Siding, and finally resolved as Walliston on 13th October 1915.
Walyunga National Park
This locality is situated approximately 8.9 km SE of the Bullsbrook townsite and was named after the national park which was named after Walyunga Pool.
This suburb was approved on March 14th, 1978 and commemorates a highly regarded Aboriginal stockman who drove sheep in the Cockburn Sound area for Anchorage Butchers around the 1920's.
The name of this suburb was created by combining the names of the two main roads adjoining it - Wanneroo and Gnangara. The name was approved in 1980.
Wannanup is the original Aboriginal name for part of the suburb previously approved as Florida. Florida became divided by the Dawesville Channel resulting in the City of Mandurah renaming the northern area to Wannanup. The name change was approved in 24th August 1996.
In the early days of the Swan River Colony, the district of Wanneroo represented an "outer" region and it is not until 1834, that an excursion into the area by any explorers or settlers is recorded. In that year, a party of four led by John Butler, travelled about 35 miles north from Perth to search for lost cattle and passed through the area just to the east of Lake Joondalup. Butler stated that the aborigines of the area were "those wanneroo men who frequent Perth in company with the Yellowgonga tribe." It is not known when early settlers started using the name "Wanneroo", but, as early as 1842, a Surveyor recorded "road to Wanneroo" and in 1844, James Dobbins gave his address as Wanneroo. A government townsite was gazetted as "Wanneru", an Aboriginal word referring to the sticks used by women for digging roots, in August 1907 and it was not until May 1953 that the spelling was amended to "Wanneroo".
The suburb of Warnbro derives its name from Warnbro Sound, the bay on the shores of which the suburb is located. Warnbro Sound was surveyed by Surveyor General J S Roe in 1837, and in 1838 he recorded the name, but it is not known why the name was chosen.The locality was Gazetted on 5th April 1974.
This suburb is located on land granted to the Midland Railway Company in exchange for building the Midland to Walkaway railway. It was named Warwick in 1969, after the major road through the area, Warwick Road. The road was shown on maps as early as 1950, and could be named after a London road of this name.
Subdivided and developed by the Christian Brothers of Clontarf who submitted a list of Irish street names for the area in December 1979. The South Perth City Council, concerned over the incongruity of such names in a suburb with an Aboriginal name (Karawara), enquired whether it was intended to apply a separate name to the Christian Brother's Estate. The developers suggested renaming the area south of Manning Road 'Waterford' after the town in south east Ireland where Edmund Rice founded the Christian Brothers teaching order. This was approved in December 1980.
This suburb is named after Alfred Waterman, a fisherman who built the first house in the area in 1908. He named his house "Zephyr". The beach front adjacent to his house became known as Watermans Bay, a well known fishing spot. The suburb name was approved in 1954, was changed to Waterman in 1962, and then back to Watermans Bay in 2004
This suburb possibly takes its name from a farm which was known to be in the area around 1920. Another account states the area was named in the early 1900's as wattle trees lined both sides of Welshpool Road. The district was described as "where the groves of wattle are" by early settlers.
This suburb was named in 1962, and takes its name from Wattleup Road, a road in use in the district since 1931 when land was subdivided here. In 1961, the name "Wattleup Gardens Estate" was used for a subdivision, and led to Wattleup being approved as the suburb name on the 4th of May 1962.
The suburb of Wellard commemorates an early settler, John Wellard, who in 1860 owned Serpentine Farm about 7.5 kms southeast of the suburb. A government townsite with this name was declared here in 1923, and was cancelled in 1960. Wellard was approved as a suburb name in March 1978.
This suburb derives its name from Welshpool Road. The name of the road was known as early as 1889, and one account states that an early market gardener, Benjamin Dewing was born in Welshpool in Wales, and named his property after the Welsh town. The area was known as Welshpool as early as 1895, but in 1908 local residents petitioned to have the Welshpool station changed to Canterbury.
Named after Wembley, England. Intensive subdivision of the Wembley area commenced in 1909, and originally the subdivision was regarded as part of Leederville. In 1924, the Perth City Council requested that it be renamed Wembley Park after the suburb of Greater London where the Empire Exhibition was being held at the time. The name was gazetted in 1924 and was later shortened to Wembley.
Land in the suburb of Wembley Downs was first subdivided in 1927, but the area was mainly developed in the 1950's. The name is derived from the adjacent golf course which in turn derives its name from the suburb of Wembley. Attempts to change the name in 1959 to avoid confusion with Wembley were unsuccessful.
This locality was originally approved in 1997 as Kooljerrenup.In 2002 the Shire of Murray requested that the locality of Kooljerrenup be renamed to West Coolup (a descriptive name).This request was made with overwhelming support from the affected residents. The approval to change the name was on the 23rd August 2002.
This suburb name is descriptive, being derived from its location to the west of Leederville. Although locally used for a considerable time, the name was only officially adopted in 1998
This suburb name is descriptive, being derived from its location to the west of Perth.
West Pinjarra is a locality of Pinjarra which is predominantly an industrial suburb with many engineering and manufacturing facilities. It was approved on 18th August 1997.
This suburb name is descriptive, being derived from its location on the western side of the Swan River.This locality name was approved on 21st May 1972.
Westminster was formerly part of Balga, and was approved as a suburb in 1994. The name is derived from "Westminster Gardens", an estate developed in the area in the 1930's, and also the name of one of the primary schools in the area.
The name is derived from Whitby Falls, located within the area. The falls area about 60 metres in height and have been locally known by this name since 1848. Originally known as "Mundajill", was renamed "Whitby Falls Estate" after being purchased in 1848 by Henry Mead, who hailed from Whitby, Yorkshire.Approved as a locality name on 3rd November 1988.
White Gum Valley
No record exists as to why this suburb was so named. The common white gum of the Darling Range does not grow in this area, although it is possible some Maiden Gums (Eucalyptus Lane-Poolei, known as salmon white gums) grew in the area.
Name proposed by the City of Swan after Mr L. Whiteman, one time owner of land and developer of a park in this area. The name was approved on 18th July 1981.
The Whittaker brothers operated a sawmill in this area from 1902 to 1944 and their name was associated with the area and in particular Whittaker Hill which is within this locality.The locality was approved on 18th August 1997.
The suburb of Willagee takes its name from Willagee Swamp, the Aboriginal name of a feature now reclaimed. The area was developed in the early 1950's, and the name approved in 1954.
In November 1964, the City of Canning proposed this area be named Burtsdale after Septimus Burt who purchased the land in 1882. The name Willetton was proposed for the adjoining Postal District, the bulk of which was in Canning Location 21 assigned to Henry Willett in June 1832. In August and September 1965, the City suggested that the name Lynwood replace Willetton and the name Willetton replace Burtsdale. These amendments were approved in December 1965.
Development of the Wilson area began in 1954 when the State Housing Commission resumed some land and T.M. Burke Pty Ltd subdivided some adjoining land. In December 1954, the Canning Road Board proposed the area be named Wilson Park to commemorate Mr G.H. Wilson, a late member and Chairman of the Road Board for a period of 43 years and also an extensive landholder in the area, as the late member of Wilson and Johns Pty. Ltd. Florists and Nurserymen. This name was to apply to the overall area of both developments, but the State Housing commission wished to designate their area as Beeloo, an Aboriginal name recently adopted as the name of the local Electoral District. Dispute over the name continued for over three years, and it was not until January 1960 that the name Wilson was approved for the suburb.
The suburb of Winthrop was originally part of the Applecross Pine Plantation, owned by the University of Western Australia since 1904. The name Winthrop was proposed in December 1977 by the City of Melville and supported by the University of WA, who were developing the land. It is named in commemoration of Sir John Winthrop Hackett, the first Chancellor of the University of WA.
Woodbridge was formerly part of Midland, although was often referred to as West Midland. The suburb was named on 1st March 2001, and derives its name from Governor Stirling's original 1829 land grant which he named after his wife's family property near Guildford in Surrey, England. The National Trust property "Woodbridge" is located in the suburb.
This suburb name was approved in 1961, and derives its name from Woodlands Estate. Many of the street names in the area are the names of trees, in keeping with the woodlands theme of the area.
The suburb of Woodvale derives its name from the area being rolling undulating country with many stands of good timber. The area was cleared between 1963 and 1968, apparently for grazing purposes, and then developed for housing in the early 1970's. The suburb name was approved n 3rd December 1974.
Wooroloo is an Aboriginal name, first recorded in 1841 when a site for townsite to be named "Worriloo" was surveyed. Other spellings of Worrilow and Warriloo are also recorded, but by the 1890's the Wooroloo spelling was commonly used. A railway stopping place named Wooroloo was established in 1897, and a government townsite of this name declared in 1913.
This suburb derives its name from a government townsite on the Perth Bunbury line between Armadale and Byford. The Wungong Brook flows past the south west corner of the town. The townsite of Wungong (pronounced "Woongong") was proclaimed on 12th March 1909 and was named after the nearby Wungong Brook. The course of this brook was first traced by Alfred Hillman in January 1835.
Return to alphabet index
The name Yanchep is of Aboriginal origin, and is derived from "yanget", a native flax or bullrush.The name was first recorded for Lake Yanchep by surveyor R. Quinn in September 1866.
Yangebup, like Yanchep, is believed to be derived from the Aboriginal word "yanget", the name of a native flax or bullrush.Yangebup Lake, after which the suburb is named, was first recorded in 1841, and Yangebup was approved as a suburb name on the 24th November 1977.
Named after Yokine Hill and Mount Yokine Golf Course. "Yokine" is an Aboriginal word (Beverley district) for the native dog.The hill situated on Williams Road was named by N.S. Bartlett in 1922 because it is so close to Native Dog Swamp.The hill was an important Trig Station and the land was referred to before this as part of Osborne Park.
Yunderup is an Aboriginal word derived from "Yoondooroop", the original spelling of one of the islands in the Murray delta.A scheme of subdivision was proposed and surveys carried out in 1897. In March 1898 George Throssell, then Commissioner of Crown Lands, gave approval for the use of the Aboriginal name and the Surveyor General, H.F. Johnston, recommended that it be spelt "Yundurup", thus conforming to the Royal Geographical Society's system of Orthorgraphy in which native names having the sound "oo" are spelt with a "u" as in "Zulu".The townsite was gazetted as "Yundurup" in 1898, but over the years common usage converted the pronunciation to "Yunderup", with the "u's" pronounced as in "cup", and the latter spelling was approved in 1973.
The Perth Metropolitan Area includes the local government areas of Armadale, Bassendean, Bayswater, Belmont, Cambridge, Canning, Claremont, Cockburn, Cottesloe, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Gosnells, Joondalup, Kalamunda, Kwinana, Mandurah, Melville, Mosman Park, Mundaring, Nedlands, Peppermint Grove, Perth, Rockingham, ...What is the nicest suburb in Perth? ›
- #1 Churchlands. Our top pick is the stunning suburb Churchlands. ...
- #2 Dalkeith. Boasting big homes, impressive architecture and stunning views of the Swan River, Dalkeith is a beauty to behold. ...
- #3 Salter Point. ...
- #4 Shelley. ...
- #5 Attadale. ...
- #6 Floreat. ...
- #7 Rossmoyne. ...
- #8 Swanbourne.
Late 1800s-early 1900s: Inner areas and older suburbs such as Fremantle, Guildford, Claremont, Mount Lawley and Leederville developed prior to the rise of the car and when people needed to be able to walk/cycle/catch public transport, with development forming around the Fremantle-Midland rail line.What suburbs are in South Perth? ›
The City of South Perth includes the suburbs of Como, Karawara, Kensington (part), Manning, Salter Point, South Perth and Waterford.What suburbs are in East Perth? ›
Perth's Eastern Region is an area of Perth defined by the boundaries of five local governments: the Town of Bassendean, City of Bayswater, City of Kalamunda, Shire of Mundaring and City of Swan.What suburb means? ›
Definition of suburb
1a : an outlying part of a city or town. b : a smaller community adjacent to or within commuting distance of a city. c suburbs plural : the residential area on the outskirts of a city or large town.
Perth, Australia, is known as the largest city in Western Australia and the sunniest and most isolated capital in the world. Its history and recognition as the “City of Lights” continues to intrigue people far and wide. Perth is renowned for its 19 beaches, wildlife, Swan River, and craft beer.What's the safest suburb in Perth? ›
Safest suburbs Perth, WA
Data from the Western Australia Police Force indicates that the suburb of Dalkeith with 0.7 incidents per 100 residents is the safest in Perth.
While the north is considered the livelier place to live, the south is also home to lively precincts, like Fremantle and Victoria Park which are popular activity centres. Traditionally, south of the river is popular among families with there being greater schooling options and parklands.
- West Leederville. ...
- North Fremantle. ...
- Northbridge. ...
- Scarborough. ...
- Mount Lawley. ...
- South Perth. ...
- Nedlands. ...
- Victoria Park.
|Suburb||Median house sale price 2020-21||Percentage change|
|2. North Beach||$1.03 million||+36.2%|
|4. Mount Hawthorn||$952,500||+32.8%|
As for the most popular family-orientated suburbs for 2022, Mr Leader said inner-city suburbs such as Mount Hawthorn, Mount Lawley and Inglewood were in demand thanks to great school catchments and their blend of convenience. “We are also seeing families look for the coastal lifestyle,” he said.Why is it called Perth? ›
It was named after the county of Perth in Scotland, birthplace of Sir George Murray, then secretary of state for the colonies, and was proclaimed a city in 1856.Why is Perth Australia called Perth? ›
Stirling soon realised that the soil on the coast was not suited to agriculture. He decided to establish two towns in the new settlement: a commercial port at Fremantle and a capital – which he named Perth after the Scottish city – about 19 kilometres up the Swan River.What was Perth originally called? ›
They called the area on which Perth now stands Boorloo. Boorloo formed part of Mooro, the tribal lands of Yellagonga, whose group was one of several based around the Swan River, known collectively as the Whadjug.
- Balcatta, Balga, Bedford, Coolbinia, Dianella, Embleton, Glendalough.
- Inglewood, Joondanna, Leederville, Malaga, Maylands, Menora.
- Mirrabooka, Morley, Mount Hawthorn, Mount Lawley, Nollamara, Noranda.
- North Perth, Stirling, Tuart Hill, West Leederville, Westminster, Yokine.
The western suburbs (also known as the golden triangle) are an informally defined group of suburbs of Perth, Western Australia, located west of the city's central business district and north of the Swan River.Is South Perth a good suburb? ›
South Perth is an amazing Suburb with a beautiful array of nature.
The area so enclosed includes all of the Cities of Bayswater, Belmont, Canning, Cockburn, Fremantle, Gosnells, Melville, Nedlands, Perth, South Perth, Sterling, Subiaco, Wanneroo. The areas so enclosed includes all of the Towns of Bassendean, Claremont, Cottesloe, East Fremantle, Kwinana, Mosman Park.Is Mandurah a suburb of Perth? ›
|Mandurah Western Australia|
Fremantle is a port on the western coast of Australia, facing out into the Indian Ocean. Often referred to as Freo, it's not just a suburb or outgrowth of Perth, but a city in its own right - it's where Western Australia got started.Where is the western suburbs in Perth? ›
The western suburbs (also known as the golden triangle) are an informally defined group of suburbs of Perth, Western Australia, located west of the city's central business district and north of the Swan River.